Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20160327_110205

It’s not pretty but it’s the first French Toast I have had since going egg free (in case you didn’t know we discovered I had a pretty nasty allergy to eggs a few years back).

I’ve missed French toast.  I think the only mistake I made was using really thin bread.  I recently discovered an organic white bread by Franz under their “skinny” bread line.  I can’t remember what it is called exactly but they are tiny little pieces of bread and the bag advertises they are only 60 calories a slice.  I bought it because it is the only organic white bread at the store.  A thicker bread might hold up a little better.

French toast has never been a recipe to me, just a guide line, but today I have a recipe.  This made 4 pieces of small bread which was perfect for me since my family all went for French toast with eggs.

I used Ener-G egg replacement – making 1 “egg” in 1/2 cup of warm milk.  To that I added 1 tablespoon sugar, a 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (to taste), and mixed well.  Then I poured that into a cake pan to dip my bread in.

Fry in butter with a little oil.  I find a low heat works best.  We use a cast iron skillet.  I often start on high and then reduce the heat to medium low.  This did stick and it wasn’t a dry product.  But the flavor was great and it was filling.  I ate half for breakfast and saved the other two for lunch.   Perfect Sunday brunch sort of recipe.

I hope this helps you develop your own version of French toast (if I was using eggs it would be 1 egg in 1/2 cup milk approximately).  To make a completely vegan version, use a dairy free milk.

