Tags

,

Okay so I gave up my original post which was basically a rant about how I am sick of everything.  I’m tired but I don’t have enough to rant about.  I just wish the world wasn’t so negative.  I’m currently sick so I am overly sensitive to it all.  And I’m at a crossroads that just leaves me not wanting to pick a direction.  But all of that has me escaping into books.  I have read some wonderful books these past few months and picked up a few more.

Normally, I avoid reading challenges but I picked up 2 that I am hoping to complete.  First, they are short.  They both have 12 books.  The topics are broad enough that I think I can dish them out rather quickly.  And I love that most.

The first was a list that was passed around my book club.  I got to looking at it last week and realized I had already gotten a number of the challenges done.  By the end of this month, I expect I will have 8 of the 12 done.

I don’t know where the list came from so I’m going to share it here.

Read the following:
a book published this year
a book you can finish in a day
a book you’ve been meaning to read
a book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller
a book you should have read in school
a book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child or BFF
a book published before you were born
a book that was banned at some point
a book you previously abandoned
a book you own but have never read
a book that intimidates you
a book you’ve already read at least once

The second challenge is by Bookish.  It is a book a month sort of challenge but I’m stripping it down and just making it a 12 book challenge.

It’s exciting to get back into reading.  I’m not putting on a lot of pressure – just a little fun to encourage me to escape into the pages of someone else’s world.

 

 

