Tags

, , , , , ,

I started to share this yesterday but then The Frugalcrafter blog had a similar project.  I didn’t want to share the same project on the same day, it felt like cheating to me.  Turns out they were two different techniques and now I am playing with hers to see what I can do with it.

Anyway, I have been eyeing this technique since I found it here.  The problem was, I didn’t have “the right stuff”.  My stamp collection is so bizarre.  I go through it and try to remember why I bought a particular stamp (the real reason – I found it for an amazing price at a garage sale, usually).  Stamp shopping feels a lot like clothing shopping to me – way too stressful to find something that’s going to make me happy at a price I am willing to pay.

Well, since I decided it’s time for a good “spring” cleaning of Pinterest, I’ve just set aside all the stress and played.  I love how this came out.  I didn’t buy anything special and, guess what, it worked.  It may not be as glossy as the image in that blog but I don’t really care.

IMG_20160218_162151_1

I hate to admit that I lost the pictures.  I was typing along and thought I should probably load the pics.  They are gone all but the finished one.  Grrr.  I can tell what kind of day this is going to be.

On the plus side, this is super easy.  I used plain ole white card stock.  I cut my first piece to give me about an inch border around my stamp.  Once I stamped my image, I colored it with my markers (crayola).  Cut into “tiles”.  Because my image was not very large, I went with 4 tiles.  Using a brown stamp pad, I inked the edges.  When everything was good and dry, I gave it a good coat of glossy mod podge.

Because I wanted it to have a finished look (and I didn’t know what I was going to do with it), I mounted my tiles on a piece of my original cardstock.  I love that it looks like the cardstock is different.

It’s not as thick or shiny as the original concept but I don’t think that’s a problem.  I think it doesn’t need to be shinier.  To make it stand out more from the background, I could have used foam tape.  It has a lot of possibilities and I that I don’t need anything extra.

