Tags

, , , , ,

Since I did these on two different days, I thought I had taken pictures as I went.  Turns out, I forgot to take pictures of the carrots when I made them while making the canned onions.  Shouldn’t make a difference because the techniques are the same for glazed and non-glazed carrots.

I’m kind of lazy when it comes to food prep.  I don’t peel anything if I can help it.  I don’t like the extra work and the waste.  So I didn’t peel these carrots.  They got a good wash and a trim.

We have a grocery store that sells 25 pound bags of carrots for “juicing”.  These are imperfect carrots.  They eat just fine.  I was excited to pick up a bag recently, much to my husband’s dismay.  I have recipes I can’t wait to try, if I can get the time to focus on them.

These were the first two.  We bought a brand new pressure canner and the glazed carrots were the first things I canned in it.  I’m a little scattered today so sorry if this bounces a bit.  I promise to pull it together for the instructions.

Okay, focusing.  To make glazed carrots is really simple.  It’s carrots canned in heavy syrup.  I know my syrup looks pretty gross but yours may not.

To make heavy syrup, heat 1 cup water and 1 cup brown sugar for every quart you want to can.  Since I ran out of brown sugar, I added a little molasses (hence the nearly black syrup).

To prep the carrots, wash well.  Then cut into bite sized coins.  Ours are not even but you want to try for fairly even for proper canning.

Stuff raw carrots into canning jar.  Shake (covering the top) so that the carrots work to fill in the empty spaces.  Stuff in more carrots.  I do stuff as many as I can and still get the lid on without buckling.  Cover, carefully, with the hot syrup.  Leave a 1 inch headspace.  Screw the lid on tight, as tight as you can – this will reduce leakage.

IMG_20160214_211520

Place in your pressure canner with the required amount of water.  Each canner is different.  Mine calls for 2 quarts.  Seal the lid and turn on the burner to high.  Since mine is a weighted canner, I keep the heat on high until the canner whistles.  At that point, I turn the burner down greatly (about a 4 on a 10 dial burner).  I had borrowed my dad’s canner many times so I knew this was the right temp.  If this is your first time, turn it down part way and test to see how often it whistles.  I know that whistling every 5 minutes or so is normal.

For carrots, they must be canned at 10 pounds (for my elevation it’s 15 pounds) for 30 minutes.  They can be glazed or in salt water.

IMG_20160215_070550

Once your 30 minutes are up, let cool and release pressure according to your canner’s instructions.  I often do my canning right as I am getting ready for bed so when I am able to remove the lid, I let the jars sit overnight in the canner.

Next day, remove the ring and wash the jar.  Then it’s ready for labeling and storing.  I just made these over the weekend so I can’t tell you what they taste like but since they are very similar to the way we make glazed carrots, I’m excited to try them.

For non-glazed carrots, cover your jar of carrots with water.  Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt.  I don’t if it’s necessary but after canning fruit in just water, I’m willing to try.  Sometimes canning in water makes the food lose their flavor.

I hope this encourages you to try canning with a pressure canner, if you aren’t already.  I love it and look forward to all the things I am going to can this year.

IMG_20160207_205435

