Tags

, , , ,

I’m not sure I am in love with the concept for February’s tag but I like the inspiration it gave.  Last month, I thought about what it would be like to heat emboss through a stencil.  And then I had a lengthy discussion with an art group about ideas to use sculpy clay that didn’t involve the typical ideas.

Both of those led to the tags in progress I have for this month.  I love what I have done but I am completely stuck as to what to do next.  Meanwhile, let me share what I have done.

IMG_20160205_091336_1

This one is a little tough to see as well in the picture.  I started with my white cardstock tag.  I used a stiff paintbrush to cover the tag in yellow.  I love this technique – you use a stamp pad and a stiff brush.  Run the brush over the pad and use it to paint with.  It creates a thin inked result.  I’m not explaining it all that well but it’s cool so try it.  I did the edges in orange.  The best part is I used two stamp pads that are triple color pads that I hate.  I now have a use for them.

The embossing took two attempts.  The first attempt, I laid the stencil over the tag and pressed the embossing pad over it.  Then I removed the stencil and dusted with powder.  It just made a big mess.  So I brushed off all the powder and let the “ink” dry.  My second attempt, I left the stencil on while applying the powder.  Then I removed it and set with my heat gun.

As you can see, it’s not perfect but I like it even better because of that.  It gives the look of a worn cobbled road.

To finish, I applied a thin layer of black watercolor.  It just makes me happy to look at it.  I know it looks unfinished.  I’m thinking maybe a quote or something to tie it all up.

IMG_20160205_091213_1

I am super proud of this one even if the corner is a bit messed up.  Still I love the worn road look.  These are roads well traveled.

You can’t see in the picture but the blue clay actual has glitter in it.  To apply it, I slowly pressed and rubbed the sculpy clay through the stencil (using a palette knife to smooth off the top).  It took a very long time but I watched tv and worked on it.

I wasn’t sure how to set it so I left it to dry.  After about 48 hours, I had the idea to use my heat gun.  I have to tell you, I love this thing.  I got my heat gun for Christmas and I am so sorry I didn’t get one sooner.  It’s great.

Now as I am typing, I may have an idea for finishing this one.  We’ll see.

Hope these help inspire you to try new concepts and techniques.  Heck, make them up as you go.

