Tags

, , ,

This was not a bad recipe but my family felt that it wasn’t as good as the hamburger helper version of lasagna we did last year.  But I took all those pictures so I had to share.

Of course, I followed the recipe (do you believe that?  How about some ocean front property?).  I started the alterations by using a half of a tube of regular ole ground sausage.  Once I had it browned, I fried it with some onion and mushroom.

019

One thing I liked about this is that it used basic spaghetti sauce.  So into the pot when a mostly full jar of sauce (there is always a partially used jar in our fridge), some water, and a pound of farfalle pasta.

The recipe called for zucchini but it’s not in season right now.  I had hoped the mushrooms would add some moisture but they did not.  We had to add lots more water.

021

Once the noodles were mostly soft, we added cottage cheese and some cougar gold cooking cheese.  Cougar Gold is a local cheese.  This version is a softer sharp cheddar.

022

Heat until all melted and serve.  The noodles never got as tender as I might have liked.  For regular pasta, they were fine but lasagna has very soft noodles and I think I would have preferred that.

The sauce lost most of its flavor in the process which was sad.

028

In the end, it was simple, quick and filling.  Sometimes that’s all you can ask for.

 

Skillet Lasagna
1/2 pound Italian turkey sausage links, casings removed
1 small onion, chopped
1 jar (14 ounces) spaghetti sauce
2 cups uncooked whole wheat egg noodles
1 cup water
1/2 cup chopped zucchini
1/2 cup fat-free ricotta cheese
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley or 1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
1/2 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
In a large nonstick skillet, cook sausage and onion over medium heat
until no longer pink; drain. Stir in the spaghetti sauce, egg noodles, water and zucchini. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 8-10 minutes or until pasta is tender, stirring occasionally. Combine the ricotta, Parmesan and parsley. Drop by tablespoonfuls over pasta mixture. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese; cover and cook 3-5 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Yield: 5 servings.

