Tags

, , , , , , ,

I almost didn’t share this technique.  I didn’t feel it was a success.  I wanted to repeat the process explained on this blog.  Well while the technique is fairly well explained, she left out how to color it.  I was stumped.  Now I don’t own anything fancy so I thought I’d play with options.

I choose this image which I love:

034

I found some old transparencies so I stamped on cardstock and transparencies.  I couldn’t find my extras even though I know there are some.  I had to stamp several times to get a workable image.  I was successful enough to have 2 so I could try two different coloring agents.

I started with colored pencil and I loved the effect but it lacked something – it’s not dynamic.

035

It doesn’t photograph well (but then my camera doesn’t take great pictures).  It was okay.  It didn’t look like stained glass to me.  I wasn’t sure I liked it.  To let you know, I used the pencils on the cardstock and left the plastic uncolored.

So I tried markers and I hated it.  In fact, I didn’t bother finishing it.  I have often heard that if you don’t like a piece you are working on, put it away and come back to it later.  Well, last week, I came across these pieces again.  I got to thinking.  What I didn’t like about the marker version was that all the detail was obscured by the markers.  But when I put the plastic over it, all the details came back.  I had tried to color around the detail so I colored everything solid and finished the piece.  I, now, love them both.  I love the detail and the color.  I kept looking at the parts and it frustrated me.  But together, I love it.

I’m thinking that anyone can do this with some good ink (not expensive since I used the cheap ink from Michaels), some cardstock, and some plastic.  I bet you could do this with plastic left over from packaging.  I’ll be on the lookout so I can experiment.  Meanwhile, what do you think?

038

