Tags

, , , ,

006

It may not look like much but this recipe is going to quickly become a family favorite.  I’ve had this recipe written down in my book for years (maybe even over 5).  I can’t explain why it was overlooked.  It wasn’t a complicated recipe nor one that had expensive ingredients.  I think it just was missed.

The original recipe called for 2 eggs to be mixed into the pasta.  Since I can’t eat eggs, I skipped that.  Maybe that is what held me up, even when I could eat eggs it just doesn’t sound good.  Well we omitted the eggs and ended up with a softer casserole.  The eggs will stick the noodles together so that the end result is more solid.  I can’t say I minded that my pasta was loose.

Another thing I did that was different from the recipe is add the italian seasoning to the pasta water.  I really don’t like the seasoning mix I bought.  It’s woody and just yucky.  But added to the water, I got some of the flavor into the noodles and the bits that stuck were mostly softened.  I think it will be something I continue.

Last note, I used more than 30 pieces of pepperoni.  The package said it had 70 pieces and my son raided it before we got around to using them.  I have no idea how many I used but a basic package of pepperoni will cover this and give you enough to have a very small snack.

I just realized that in all the confusion, I cooked it wrong.  I made it all up as a casserole – noodles mixed with sour cream and cheese, pizza sauce, pepperoni, and cheese.  Then I baked it.  I baked for the full 15 minutes so I have two copies of the recipe for you – the original and my version.

004

 

Pepperoni Pizza Pasta Bake (original)
1-1/2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1-1/2 cups pizza sauce
2 cups (8 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
30 slices pepperoni
1 can (2-1/4 ounces) sliced ripe olives, drained
Cook macaroni according to package directions; drain. Stir in the eggs, Parmesan cheese, sour cream and Italian seasoning. Transfer to a greased 11-in. x 7-in. baking dish. Bake at 375° for 10 minutes. Spread with pizza sauce. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese; top with pepperoni and olives. Bake 10-15 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Yield: 6 servings.

Pepperoni Pizza Pasta Bake (my version)
1-1/2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon or so Italian seasoning
1 jar pizza sauce
2 cups (8 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
30 slices pepperoni
Cook macaroni according to package directions, adding salt and the Italian seasoning; drain. Stir in  Parmesan cheese and sour cream. Transfer to a 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Spread with pizza sauce. Top with pepperoni and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Bake 10-15 minutes or until cheese is melted and beginning to brown at edges. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Yield: 6 servings.

