Tags

, , , , , ,

006

One thing I definitely horde is recipes.  I have a ton of recipes that I have collected over the years.  Before the days of pinterest, I developed a word document to copy all the recipes I wanted to keep or to try.  Unfortunately, many of those recipes just sit in that folder.  Every now and again, I clean out the file and delete recipes I’ve kept for several years but not tried.

This year, I wanted to clean it out again but instead of just randomly dumping recipes, I wanted to give them a chance.  I sent my husband the list of recipes that are on the chopping block, as well as on pinterest.  We scoured the store sales and planned our meals around what was on sale and the recipes we wanted to try.  I have to say, it turned out rather nice.  We have two weeks of meals planned, all the ingredients, and a visible list so that meals are easy.

The first recipe was Pizza Casserole.  You will notice a lot of pizza recipes coming up over the next few weeks.  We don’t eat a lot of pizza so my family jumped at the chance to have something pizza like since it’s one of their favorite foods.

I will share the recipe as it was written below.  If you follow this blog (or know me in real life), you know I can’t follow a recipe.  I try but I can’t.  We swapped out the chicken sausage links for ground sausage.  We live in a college town and this weekend was when the students returned for the spring semester so the shopping was some slim pickings.  The other big change was we skipped the peppers, oh and used squash instead of zucchini.  We had a squash plant pop up in our garden this year that we didn’t plant.  It gave us huge squashes but we have no idea what type it is.

Aside from that, I was fairly faithful to the recipe.  I will warn you, use a big skillet.  We used our regular one and couldn’t put the sausage in after cooking all the veggies.  Since we used ground sausage, we cooked it first and then set it aside.

So, what did we think?  I can’t be certain so we’ll be trying it again soon.  It seems to have a problem with evaporation.  There were no leftovers.  Honestly, we rather liked it.  I love a good squash recipe and I think this is one.  Not sure I will think of it as any thing else. Next time, though, I think I’d like to try making it with homemade bread sticks.  The canned ones are not my favorite and they are rather pricey for what you get.

Pizza Casserole
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium-size onion, chopped
2   sweet yellow, red or green peppers, cut in large dice
2 medium-size zucchini, cut into rounds
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 cans (14.5 ounces each) diced tomatoes, drained
5 fully cooked chicken sausages (about 12 ounces), sliced
1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1   tube (11 ounces) refrigerated bread sticks
Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease 13 x 9 x 2-inch baking dish. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and peppers; cook 5 minutes. Add zucchini and garlic; cook 5 minutes, until barely tender.  Add tomatoes, sausage, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper; cook until somewhat dry, 5 to 7 minutes. Add 2 tablespoons Parmesan. Spoon half into prepared dish. Top with 1 cup mozzarella. Add remaining tomato mixture. Arrange bread sticks on top in lattice pattern, trimming to fit. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan and mozzarella. Bake in 350 degree F oven 25 minutes, until bread sticks are browned and filling is bubbly.

004

