Tags

, , ,

happy-new-year-1448691187WNk

I’ve talked in the past how my goals for 2015 didn’t quite have the success I had hoped for.  The biggest issue was I had little control in the success of my goals and I didn’t realize that when I planned them.

I’m at a point in my life where I am rather happy or maybe content is a better word.  There are things I would like to change but I, also, know that I am not in a position to make those changes now.  Much of what I want to change is a work already in progress.  It’s about continuing on those paths and being patient.

My goals for 2015 felt like they were great goals.  I didn’t account for enough parameters.  When all was said and done, I had goals that were not designed for success.  I was rushing things and making goals for my family that they agreed to but didn’t feel invested in.  I was heaping more work and responsibility on myself than I was able to do.  So when all was said and done, my goals did fail but I don’t feel like the year was not a success.

I learned a lot in 2015.  I found more focus.  I culled things I thought were important to me (they were once upon a time) but no longer something I can continue.  I let go of old dreams.  I discovered I like my life.  I love my job.  I love my community.  I love that I am human and constantly changing.

With all that said and done, I have decided to approach 2016 differently.  I don’t have goals in the traditional sense.  I don’t feel a drastic need to change anything in my life at this point in time.  I want to give myself more freedom and more time to play.  So I announced to my family that we are going to have year bucket lists.  They can be broad or narrow sorts of things but they all have to be things we can reasonably do this year.  No trips to Paris but taking time to go camping is completely acceptable.

I’ve listed things fun and things practical.  I’ve made notes about places to go fruit picking and fishing, as well as festivals that I would like to attend.  Because this is a bucket list, there is no failing.  We will just try that much harder the next year to do it.

The “goal” behind this is to give me a break from that constant forward pressure I put on myself and my family.  It will give us a chance to focus on those little things we want to do.  It’s a nice feeling to just be able to enjoy the year and what ever it brings.

I have decided to continue with my documenting the year.  Instead of creating a book especially for that, I have added blank pages to my planner so that it’s all in one.  I can keep track of everything in one book.

I do want to take a moment to let everyone know I am taking a blogging break.  I do have a song for Christmas that I am scheduling but outside of that this blog will be quiet until the 4th of January.  At that time, I’ll be coming back with Music Monday and a week of posts.  Hope you enjoy.

Merry Christmas and a Happy Wonderful New Year!!!!

