Tags

, , , , , , ,

When my four year old niece came to visit for Thanksgiving, I made up a bunch of projects to help keep her busy.  I made a lot of projects so she could make some decisions about how to fill up her time.  Unfortunately, we barely got into the project box.  But it gives me lots of fun things to do while waiting for Christmas (and in between making cookies, lots and lots of cookies).

This is a very simple craft.  More of an idea.

I started with gluing 4 popsicle sticks into snowflake forms.  I’m not 100% sure what glue I used but I think I used basic school glue because I had plenty of time to wait for them to dry.

021

Since I was doing these alone, I finished the project with the hot glue gun (mostly because it was the nearest glue).  I fished out a bunch of blue and white buttons from my stash and attached them to the sticks.  I wanted to keep these light and fun and childish.  It’s part of the wonder of this time of year.

A loop of ribbon glued to the back and I had a cute collection of snowflakes.  Aside from gluing time, these were quick to put together.  A perfect project for a large group of kids and super inexpensive.  Decorate with what you have.  They can even be painted.

006

The time between Christmas and New Year’s is our fun creative time in our house.  I often pull out projects similar to this for the family to work on.  These would make fun gifts for teachers when the kids are returning in January or even fun decorations to share with friends and family after the holidays.  No one has ever said that Christmas is the deadline for all gifts or creative moments.

