Tags

, , , ,

cherries-13750360220SH

I am terrible.  I have so many projects in the works and I have plans to share.  I, of course, completely forgot that pictures are necessary.  So today, I am sharing a Christmas tradition in our house.  These cookies are awesome but they don’t look very special so I thought we could forgo the pictures.

They are a little bit of work but not so much that they are difficult.  These start with a jar of cherries.  The original recipe called for maraschino cherries.  Well, we’ve given up artificially colored foods (the glaze also called for food coloring).  I, now, can a jar or two of pie cherries in heavy syrup especially for these cookies.  The result is a sweet tart filling.

Last night’s batch had cherries with a hint of vanilla.

The cookie dough is simple and on the boring side.  I was surprised to realize that they are “naturally” egg-free.  Great for those of us who can’t eat eggs (even though that does not stop the baking frenzy at our house, thank heaven for Ener-G Egg Replacer).

The hardest part, which is time consuming, is that the dough is wrapped around each of the cherries.  The dough is a little brittle so it’s a pain.  However, what you get are simple little cookies that taste a bit like cherry pie married a cookie and had bonbon babies.

Cherry Bonbon Cookies
36 canned cherries
1 cup butter, softened
1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 tablespoon whole milk
3 teaspoons vanilla
2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1-1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 to 2 tablespoons water
Pat cherries dry with paper towels; set aside (I will confess that all I do is drain the cherries but that might be why it takes me a little longer to make my bonbons).
In a large bowl, cream butter and confectioner’s sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in milk and vanilla. Combine flour and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture. Shape a tablespoonful of dough around each cherry, forming a ball. Place 2 in. apart on ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 14-16 minutes or until bottoms are browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.
In a small bowl, combine confectioners’ sugar and enough water to achieve a dipping consistency. Dip the tops of the cookies in  glaze.  Let stand until set.

 

*I was sharing this post with a group when I discovered I’ve shared this recipe before with pictures (and the original recipe notes).  If you are interested, you can find it here.

