Tags

, , ,

004

I continued the chocolate experiments using the remaining baking cups.  I really wanted peanut butter cups.  I’ve been craving them and the store bought versions are pricey.

Because the marshmallow cups had turned out to be too sweet, I opted to make a double batch using the amount of sugar from one batch.  I, also, wanted the cups to be firmer so I pulled out a bag of chocolate chips.

That worked, sort of.  The chocolates have the perfect flavor.  The chocolate still has a bit of a greasy feel when it’s too soft but it’s firmer at room temperature.  Note – firmer, not firm.  The chocolates still need refrigeration to be eaten easily.

The start of this show, however,  is the filling.  With this version of the chocolate, I got less chocolates but enough filling to make more once I get around to making more chocolate.

I have always loved the idea of homemade chocolate peanut butter cups but I don’t love the recipes.  I have pinned about 10 versions of the recipe and the majority of them use something like graham cracker crumbs.  I’m not sure why there is this filler in the filling since I feel it detracts from the peanut butter flavor.

I did find a recipe that used peanut butter, butter, and powdered sugar.  I really didn’t want to use butter but the recipe refused to work without it.  The end result was amazing.  I ended up making some alterations to the recipe.  The final candy is so good that my family is wondering when I am going to make more because they are running out.

Peanut Butter Filling

2 cups peanut butter (1 15 oz jar)
1 cup butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
Beat ingredients together (a mixer makes light work of this) until they are fully incorporated and a little on the fluffy side.

Chocolate

1/4 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup cocoa powder
1 cup coconut oil
1 package chocolate chips (I used Guittard semi-sweet)

Bring water and sugar to a boil over high heat.  Stir until sugar is completely dissolved.  Lower heat, add cocoa powder and coconut oil.  Once melted, add chocolate chips.  When the chips are mostly melted, remove from heat and stir until smooth.  The chocolate should be fairly liquid.  If it starts to stiffen, return to medium heat and let melt.  Heat carefully to avoid the chocolate from getting gritty.

Assembling

Place a tablespoon of chocolate at the bottom of your mini baking cup.  Pinch off about a tablespoon of filling, roll into ball and set in the chocolate.  Cover with remaining chocolate.

I found it worked best when I did about 5 – 10  at a time.  This gave me that assembly line feel without making it feel like I had to rush.

You could try dipping the filling (rolled in a ball) in the chocolate.  While it will still be delicious, it won’t have that cup candy feel.

I had just over 50 cups left and this didn’t use them all up.  I would say it makes about 45 cups with lots of filling leftover.  If you double the chocolate, it might make all the filling into cups.  I just froze the extra for future candies.

 

 

