Tags

, , , , , ,

Homemade Candy Corn

I have heard all the jokes and comments about candy corn but I have to tell you I can’t wait for fall when all the candy corn treats come out.  I love candy corn.  I love candy pumpkins.

But then I found out I was allergic to eggs.  Guess what – many of my favorite treats have eggs and that includes candy corn.  I was sad.  But never fear, pinterest always comes to the rescue.  Okay so this didn’t originate on pinterest and I’m not sure how I found the recipe but I did find it.  Right here.

There are a few things about making things from scratch that are great.  I completely skipped the whole food coloring thing.  Food coloring actually grosses me out, I can’t believe people actually eat it (okay, I can’t believe I used to eat it either).  I, also, simplified the process because let’s face it – I’m a little lazy.

I started by putting my powdered sugar and powdered milk in a bowl.  Something to note here – I was a little worried because the powdered milk we have remaining is not one we like.  There is a hint of the powdered milk.  These are strange candies because the flavor is not consistent on the tongue.  It starts sweet, has a milky taste and then ends sweet.  So you can taste the powdered milk at a point but it’s not the whole flavor.

I will also note, that I didn’t sift my sugar.

Into a saucepan went 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup corn syrup and 1/3 cup butter.  We used a high quality butter here but I’m not sure it makes a difference.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, reduce to medium low and boil for 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and add 1 teaspoon vanilla.   Then add in powdered sugar and powdered milk.

At this point, I regretted my decision to not sift the powdered sugar because it was lumpy.  I removed all the dough and let it cool in a bowl for 30 minutes.  At that point, I kneaded the dough.  Originally, I was going to pull it into long ropes but it was a little difficult to do that so I opted to pinch and roll the dough into little balls.  This is when I discovered that all those powdered sugar lumps went away.  Awesome, no need to sift the sugar.

The next part is really the hardest part of the whole ordeal – wait 2 hours for the dough to fully set.  It was getting late so we hid them away and went to bed.  The end result was amazing.  I’m thinking these are going to get made again and again.  The dough comes together easier than getting to the store.  So I have to wait a little while for the dough to set (it does taste better and has better texture if you wait but you can sneak in a bite earlier if you are desperate).

And aren’t these beautiful?

Homemade Candy Corn

Homemade Candy Corn
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup corn syrup
1/3 cup butter
2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/3 cup powdered milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Put the powdered sugar and powdered milk in a bowl.

Into a saucepan place the sugar, corn syrup and butter.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, reduce to medium low and boil for 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and add 1 teaspoon vanilla.   Then add in powdered sugar and powdered milk.

Remove the dough and let it cool in a bowl for 30 minutes.

Knead the dough until it is smooth (just a minute).  Roll into bite sized balls.  Let sit for 2 hours before eating.

