Tags

, , , , , ,

DIY Tofu

Like with the soy milk, I feel that Rachael Hutchings does a great job of showing how to make tofu.  However, I like to share what I am doing not only for my readers but for my future forgetful self.

This tofu recipe is so easy.  I borrowed some Nigiri granules from my mom and made a double batch of soy milk.

DIY Tofu

Tofu is really a simple soy cheese, much like lemon cheese.  All you need is milk, heat and an acid of some sort.  I’m not 100% sure what Nigiri is but Rachael says you can make tofu with lemon so that will be one of my future experiments.

DIY Tofu

I heated my milk in a large pot.  I didn’t need one this large but I didn’t know what might happen.  This is the pot I made the double batch of soy milk, again I went a little too big.  Once the soy milk was done, I rinsed out anything chunky and set it back on the stove.

DIY Tofu

We are really fancy with our tofu molds – my mom found these baskets at the dollar store.  I have a weird little tupperware thing that I will be using in my next experiment but didn’t want to risk it not working the first time.  All you need is something that allows for drainage.  Then we have jelly bags.  You can pick up 2 for about $5-6, anywhere that sells canning supplies.  You don’t even need the whole set, just the bags.  Or a tight weave cheesecloth, maybe even a good flour bag towel would work.

DIY Tofu

Here is my first addition of the Nigiri.  You add it in two increments (in water) and then stir gently.

DIY Tofu

After my second addition and the rest period.  It’s a funky bright yellow.

DIY Tofu

Because I didn’t know what to expect, I tried to follow the directions to the letter.  I felt that it would have been easier to hang my jelly bag and pour the whole thing into the bag instead of trying to spoon it out.  It does make a fair amount of whey which we will be using in baked goods (mostly bread).

DIY Tofu

Here I have the tofu sitting in the two jelly bags.  One “mold” has the top on.  They are both sitting in a glass cake pan to catch any drips.

DIY Tofu

Like my fancy weights.  When it comes to pressing tofu – the heavier the weight the firmer the tofu.  I do think I might have had a little too much weight but it worked out great.

DIY Tofu

My tofu in the glass pan (rinsed) before I removed it from the jelly bags.

DIY Tofu

My finished product.  It did have a few loose bits but for the most part I had an extra firm tofu product.

DIY Tofu

Which I fried in some coconut oil and served over rice with some homemade almond sauce.  This was so good.  The tofu was amazing.  You’d never know it wasn’t store-bought.  It was organic and easy to make.  It does take time but most of that is waiting. I can’t wait to try some more techniques and see what we can make.

I have visions of stocking up on soy beans and using them for milk and meat substitutes, especially when it comes to my “prepping”.

