Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve recently discovered that making soy milk is so easy thanks to Rachael Hutchings.  I wanted to share so that you can discover how easy this is and we’ll be making tofu out of it soon.

Making Soy Milk

Soak 1 cup soybeans in 4 cups water for a minimum of 8 hours.  Rachael recommends refrigerating if soaking longer.  We soaked ours almost 24.

Making Soy MilkDrain the beans and place half in your blender or food processor.  Add 2 cups hot water (we boiled ours).  Blend, pour into a saucepan, and repeat.  Use 1/4 cup hot water to get all the pulp from the blender.

Making Soy MilkBring to a boil and let simmer 8 minutes.

Making Soy MilkDrain into a jelly bag (this makes the next step so much easier) sitting in a small colander.  Use a potato masher to get out all the liquid.

Making Soy Milk

This is our first pressing.  Add 1 1/2 cups boiling water and mash around for a second pressing.

Making Soy MilkTotal amount is around 4 cups of milk.  This is all yours with nothing added.  My family wasn’t in love with it since we often buy sweetened and flavored soy milk.  I love it because I bought my organic soy beans from Azure Standard and I know exactly what is in the milk.  I’m leaving it unflavored to make tofu but we can add whatever we want to make it taste how we want it to.

Making Soy Milk

The leftover pulp is full of fiber and protein.  While Rachael uses hers fresh, we threw ours in the dehydrator.  The plan is to grind it up to add to foods.  It’s a great source of nutrients.  I feel like my 1 cup of soy beans has made so much more.  It’s given me hope that I can have the soy beans in my food storage for many uses – dairy, protein and “grain”.  I haven’t figured out the math yet but I’m thinking that I can sub out of the milk and legumes for just soy beans.  Who knows, we may find that the soy beans help us fit an entire years worth of food storage in our apartment.

