Tags

, , , , , , ,

Busy, busy time but I did my two washi tape books finished that I mentioned on Tuesday.  I, actually, had plans to share something else with you but I have been crazy busy and I forgot.  But this is good.

Washi Tape Books Part TwoThis is the alphabet book.  I loved finding papers and coming up with creative ways to make them fit my letters.  In the end, the book is not exactly kid friendly since I went with words like Journal and Noir.  But it’s a fun and beautiful book for future play.

Washi Tape Books Part TwoI used a stencil and painted the letters on each page.  I started with white craft paint that I tapped on with a makeup sponge.  Some I added a teal glaze and/or black pencil to make the letters pop.

Washi Tape Books Part TwoFor the words, I just typed them up in word then cut and paste them on the paper.  I used wide Scotch Washi tape.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

Then I did a Halloween one.  (Well I made them at the same time since some things had to wait.)

Washi Tape Books Part Two

The technique I want to share is this page.  Double sided scrapbook paper is the bane of my existence.  I love it but I never can find a project that lets me show off both sides, until now.  I had these fun steampunk Halloween “tags” from a piece of scrapbook paper.  Since the other pages in the book were 8.5 inches and these were not, I opted to go with “framing them”.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

It was simple to just use the scraps from my other pages to make the frame.  I decided to go with four pieces per page and alternate them.  The ones on the sides faced the front while the top and bottom pieces faced the back.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

I used a little piece of electrical tape to hold the frame together.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

Then I added in my tag.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

Taped the card in from the back side.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

Flip.

Washi Tape Books Part Two

And taped in the other side.  For some pages, I covered the top and bottom with more electrical tape to get rid of the strip of white.  I did glue together the outside corners and added a little bit of electrical tape to the inside corners (which was covered when I taped the pages into the book).

Washi Tape Books Part Two Washi Tape Books Part Two

The end result of both books makes me very happy.  I hope you enjoy this last minute tutorial.

