Tags

, , ,

I have a pancake mix recipe that I used to love.  Unfortunately, it requires eggs.  While I can make egg substitutions, I wanted to uncover a recipe that allows me to make it with just water – similar to the Krusteaz mix we currently use.

I did some internet searching and came up with some recipes.  Unfortunately, I didn’t write down where I found these recipes so I can’t tell you where they originated.

We sat down on Saturday and began making the two mixes we had settled on.

Pancake Mix ExperimentsOur first step was to make up some self rising flour since one of the recipes called for it (and we use it to make biscuits).  To make self rising flour, add 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder for every cup of flour.  We made four cups.

Pancake Mix Experiments

Pancake Mix #1

1 cup self rising flour
1/4 cup sugar (called for castor sugar but I was too lazy to look up what that meant)
1 tablespoon arrowroot powder (or tapioca starch)
1 tablespoon milk powder
1/4 teaspoon salt (optional)
1 1/2 cup water

We mixed together all the dry ingredients in a bowl.

Pancake Mix Experiments

Pancake Mix #2

This particular recipe started with 8 cups of flour so we worked it down to just 1 cup of flour (this is that recipe).

1 cup flour
3 tablespoons milk powder
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 cup water to 1 cup mix.  This required about 2/3 – 3/4 cup water.

Those went in a different bowl.

Pancake Mix Experiments

Not sure what we were originally thinking with the bowls because you can’t really tell the difference between the mixes.

The water went in a measuring cup with a pour spout and then we added the dry ingredients.  The glass pitcher has mix #1.

Pancake Mix Experiments

Then we fried them up.  I actually started frying #2 because #1 was so thin.  I kept hoping that letting it sit it would thicken.

Pancake Mix Experiments

It fried up beautifully.  It’s as thick as the Krusteaz.  I was a little disappointed that the pancake didn’t turn out as fluffy.

Pancake Mix Experiments

They were great pancakes.  The flavor was amazing.  They baked up perfectly.

Pancake Mix Experiments

I wish I could say the same for mix #1.  These were so disappointing.  I could have worked with the thin batter.  In fact, I tried to make it more crepe like thinking that would work.  That wasn’t the problem.

Pancake Mix Experiments

These pancakes were okay texturally speaking but the sweetness was insane.  The flavor stuck in your mouth in the worst possible way.  Honestly, they tasted artificial and I made them from scratch.  I couldn’t even make up the whole batter.  I wanted to throw it out but my husband rescued it thinking he could turn it into some sort of dessert.

I don’t feel we wasted our time.  We still have plenty of Krusteaz mix left but I feel confident that mix #2 will replace our current pancake routine.

Pancake Mix

8 cups flour
1 1/2 cups milk powder
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons salt
2 tablespoons baking powder
Mix together.  Add 1/2 cup water for each cup of mix used.

*I wanted to note that I never put salt in my mixes.  I just don’t see the need.  It does act as a flavor booster and preservative but I’ve never seen where it was necessary.

Just so you have it – here is my “original” pancake mix recipe.  We have made this gluten-free using a pre-made gf flour blend with no problems.

Pancake mix

8 cup flour (add 1 tsp guar gum for GF flour)

2 cups milk powder

½ cup sugar

2 tb + 2 teas baking powder

4 teas baking soda

for pancakes add:

2 eggs

1 2/3 cup water

1/3 cup oil or butter

2 ½ cups mix

