Tags

, , , , , ,

It sounds gross but I tell you for those of us who can’t have eggs this is an amazing concept.  So I found the recipe here but they were not complete.   I meant to do more experimenting with this but I got hung up on another egg replacement experiment.

The pictures are incomplete, sorry for that.

I started with a 16 oz can of white beans.  I could not find a 15 oz at my grocery store so I don’t know if that is a typo or if there are really different sized cans out there.

Because I don’t want to have to buy a can of beans every time I want to make something from the water, I measured the liquid.  My can yielded 2/3 cup of liquid.  This will become vital when I start using home canned or cooked beans.

Bean Meringue

I dumped the liquid in my mixer.  Then I added 1/2 cup of vanilla sugar.  This was sugar that I pulverized with a vanilla bean.  I did run it through a tea strainer so that the big pieces did not fall into my bean liquid.  I, also, added 1/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar.

Bean Meringue

Then I mixed.  The advantage of doing this in the mixer is that I could walk away.  It did take a fair amount of time.

Bean Meringue

This picture is as the whites were stiffening.  I do believe I should have mixed it even drier than I did but I was so impressed.

Bean Meringue

I put the meringue out by the spoonful onto a silicon covered baking sheet.

Bean Meringue

To bake egg white meringues, the temperature is 275 and it takes about 45 minutes.  It wasn’t perfect.  My meringues spread (egg white meringues do not) so there was some sticking together and a little bit that escaped.

Aside from that – the texture was exactly like meringue.  It was saltier than I would have enjoyed but they go well with other treats.

Bean Meringue

I want to try this with other beans and see if I can whip them without the sugar to make things like angel food cake and other recipes.

It’s a start.

