Tags

, , , , , , ,

This past week I was at the Dahmen Barn Artist Demo Day.  This wreath is what I shared at the event.  Since I invited participants to come hang out with me at my blog, I felt I should share this post.  This is actually a reprint of a post from our World’s End Store blog.  That blog is going away in a couple months.

As I was moving the post from there to here, I realized there are a number of changes I have made since I made this particular wreath, starting with the fact that I attach the first layer directly on the cardboard base instead of putting it together first and then attaching.  I think I like that better.

I do spray the cones after I attach them on the base.  Now the wreath I made this weekend, I opted to spray the smaller cones separate from the wreath and then attach them once they were mostly dry.  That worked nicely as well.

The last change I have made is that I now glue down the side of the paper to make the cone.  To be honest, I didn’t realize that this project had evolved so much until I decided to share this post.  There is no wrong way.  I love that this project is forgiving and so versatile.  It can be for any event and in any theme.  And it can be temporary – minus whatever you use to hang the wreath, you can recycle the project when you are done.

Now to hang, I’ve discovered what I like is a ribbon that I add a little glue and a thumbtack to secure.

Book Page Wreath

This was a really fun wreath to make.  Like the newspaper wreath last week, you can easily alter this one for any season or holiday.  To make this, you need a book with pages that are about 6 1/2 to 7 inches wide, glue, cardboard, glue, acrylic paint, water and a spray bottle (if you want to add color).  A bit of scrapbook paper in the center also gives the wreath a more finished look but you can use a variety of decorations to finish itBook Page Wreath

You need about 26 squares that are 6 inches and 20 that are 3 inches.  I found that I didn’t need quite that many but the number you need depends on how tightly you roll your cones.  Since I was learning as I went I had a lot of different sized cones meaning I didn’t need as many as I had made.  Always have extra squares for mistakes.

Book Page Wreath

On one corner of your square, apply some glue.  I used rather cheap school glue.  The advantage of a thin glue here is that it stays wet long enough to reposition as necessary.  You will have to hold the cone for a few seconds to make sure it sticks.Book Page WreathBook Page Wreath

Once you have cones made up, start to glue them together.

Book Page Wreath

I found it worked best to glue half of my cones together, laying against the edge of a table.  This allowed me to see if I needed more or fewer cones as I worked.  The first round is larger than you would think so it made it more manageable.

Book Page Wreath

Once you have your rings completed, you can add some color.  I know spray inks are popular right now so I opted to make some of my own.  Just a few drops of acrylic paint in a small spritzer with some water (about 2 drops to 1/4 cup water).  Shake well and spritz your pages.  You’ll know in the first spritz or two if you have the water/paint ratio right.

Book Page Wreath

The larger ring I spritzed outside but the smaller one fit in my work sink.

Book Page Wreath

I meant to spritz the color lightly so there was just a hit of color but it was so much fun, I practically covered the entire thing.

Book Page Wreath

Glue the larger ring to a cardboard circle (about the size of a dinner plate).

Book Page Wreath

Glue on the smaller ring and any decorative touches you desire.

