Tags

, , ,

Ebenezer Scrooge

I can’t say it’s my favorite story but I’m fond of The Christmas Carol.  I’ve read the book and seen several versions.  I love the Muppet’s Christmas Carol and Mr Magoo’s Christmas Carol.  I can’t help it, I find myself mesmerized by the songs.  Last year, I read Kristen Lamb’s post on Ebenezer Scrooge.  It was so captivating that here I am a year later writing about it.

I knew I wanted to write something about that post but I had forgotten exactly what themes I wanted to share.  So I re-read it.  It’s so tempting to just share every word she wrote.  It falls, perfectly, in line with the themes I want to pursue in 2015.  It has hooked my heart in ways I can’t begin to put into words.

I want this post to focus on Scrooge and why his story is so important.  I learned so much from Kristen’s post.  Ebenezer means “monument to God’s glory”.  As Kristen puts it – a hardened heart melted by the power of love.  Just the thought of being worthy enough, to know you are pivotal enough, to earn the attention of God.  I had never thought about it before.

Who was Scrooge?  He was a miserable, rich old man.  He was unkind and lacked charity.  He hated everyone, including himself.  To look at him, what worth did he have?  And yet, out of all the world, the spirits visited him.  They took the risk that he was worth saving.  And their risk paid off.

All Scrooge needed was a reminder of the kind of man he had become and what he could have been.  He saw the path ahead and realized he didn’t want to live that life.  He wanted love and connection.  He wanted to be charitable but his heart had been so broken, so damaged.  He needed more than an invitation to Christmas dinner.  He needed real love.

I love the part where Kristen said that God’s promise is that life begins at the moment we decide to accept mercy and love.  How many of us are like Scrooge?  Access to riches but deny ourselves.

My favorite quote as a teen was this snippet from the poem Outwitted by Edwin Markham  “He drew a circle that shut me out- Heretic , rebel, a thing to flout.
But love and I had the wit to win: We drew a circle and took him in!”  Imagine someone loving you enough to draw you in.

Scrooge had earned that love because he needed it.

The Grinch’s heart grew three sizes that day.

This holiday season remember that Christmas doesn’t come from a store – it comes from the heart.  Remember to be kind to yourself and give yourself love this holiday season – you are worth it.  Regardless of your beliefs or your lifestyle, the real spirit of this season is charity.  You don’t have to give money or gifts if you give of yourself and give to yourself love and compassion.

We’re all Scrooges and we are all worthy of love.  And while this has quickly become an emotional mess of a post, I want you to know that I love and appreciate you.  I may not know who you are or I may see you everyday, you still make up the molecules of my world.  And it’s a world I am very grateful for.

