Tags

,

I can’t say that I really took the time to consider what to do with the rest of my life this past month.  I know my goal was to re-evaluate my goals except I am still working hard on finishing up the details from the store.  We may be at this for another month – I don’t know.  We still have bills to pay and things are not selling fast enough for us to meet that goal.  It’s just the way things work.

We’re still sorting inventory but it’s inspiring me in ways I never thought possible.  I haven’t had time or space to create art so I purchased a sketch book and have been adding ideas.  So far I have 3 solid ideas for art pieces and a few other ideas.  The goal is to use what I have and get things used up.  It will mean having several art pieces that I have to figure out what to do with.  I’m thinking our Etsy store will be packed with items to sell.  But that’s coming later (though not too much later since we want to get that holiday shopping).

So I can’t really update on my goals this month and I haven’t taken the time to come up with new goals.

I have been reading but not finishing many books.  I already mentioned my addiction to Girl Genius.  Technically I read 13 volumes of Girl Genius last week.  I’m taking a comic book/graphic novel class so I now have a huge stack of books sitting near my desk.    Other than that, I read the most recent Mercy Thompson book which I love.  I think each book becomes my favorite.  I loved the little twist at the end with the writing.  Instead of the main character going off to “war”, she was left behind.  It was an interesting perspective.

I discovered the musical artist Mary Lambert last month.  I really like her.

We saw a few movies.  My husband and I went and saw Guardians of the Galaxy in theatres.  I got to say it’s one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.  Now we don’t have a lot of access to new movies so maybe we’re underexposed (no cable and just Netflix so we don’t even know what movies are out there).  But the plot was good, it was a well constructed movie.  All around I can understand why people love this movie.  There was action and humor and everything you want in a good movie.  It’s clean enough you can take your kids and yet enjoy it as a date movie.

The other movie of any significance we saw this month was Man of Steel.  While I enjoyed the movie.  I hated the fight scenes.  I’m getting to be an old woman and the amount of destruction in the movie prevented me from really loving it.  It was just obscene.  It was so bad that I was making everyone else miserable with how much I hated it.  I couldn’t help it.  I just kept thinking about the aftermath.  It’s not a bad thing – we should understand what consequences actions have.  Action movies never show the clean up.  The insurance claims, the cost and just the amount of time it takes to pick up the pieces.  It just bothered me.

Well, there you have it – my month.  Not much to show for it but I don’t care.  I’m enjoying this fall and slowly moving forward.

