Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t believe I completely forgot to post yesterday. I’ve been so wrapped up in thoughts and the best story.
This week, my brain has been trying to wrap its self around the concept of racial identity. I am white but I never think of myself as just white. Some say that it is because I am white, I will never understand racial identity – maybe but there is so much to think about.
I am a woman and there are so many parts to me that it’s difficult to determine who I really am. The songs I have been sharing lately have been about breaking down all those walls of being a woman. Then with this added concept of race – all of the songs have been by white singers. So much to think about. Does everything have to be steeped in controversy? Can’t we appreciate a message without getting all hung up about what it’s not saying? I don’t know – my brain feels like it wants to explode.
So between my bouts of reflection, I have been reading Girl Genius. This online steampunk graphic novel was recommended to me. I completely recommend it as well. Not only is it a great story – it has action, adventure. It’s funny – I mean laugh out loud and sound like a lunatic in my cubicle. I love this site. It’s long. The wonderful artists have been working for years on this so there is a lot to read. I’ve been skipping a lot of the intermission stories so that I can get through the main one. I’ve been at this for three days (with yesterday being the most I read since I pretty much dropped everything to try to get through it). I’m trying to get to the end so I can go on with my life but so far I don’t think I’m close. I love it.

