Tags

, , ,

Logged into WordPress this morning and it congratulated me on my two year anniversary.  Two years of this blog.  I’m stunned.  I also think I should probably do something for the anniversary but I am so unprepared.  I know that it’s been two years since I registered this blog but I think I have a few weeks before we get to the anniversary of the first blog post.  Maybe I’ll have something in mind by then.

Anyway, it’s that time of the month when I take a few moments (or many because I am long-winded) to reflect on how I’ve been doing.

Let’s start with goals.  April has been all about pursuing dreams and creating goals.  It’s a great time to go back to the beginning of the year and see how those resolutions/goals are do.  If you didn’t do any goals in January – now is the time.  It’s a great time to follow your dreams and see what adventures wait for you.

Goal 1: Get More Organized – this is a hit and miss goal.  I did manage to get my creative space all cleaned up but I can’t say it’s actually organized.  It’s better and this goal is really about keeping myself on task.  I won’t be able to be 100% organized in all parts of my life.  I get busy and I have a family who messes up the system.  It’s not a complaint – it’s a reality.  I knew that when I started with this goal.  I’m doing well with my time management.  I’m not so overwhelmed as I had been before I decided to get organized.  My house isn’t great but I think we are making progress.

Goal 2: Drawing Challenge – I’m saddened by this goal or have been lately.  I’m just not taking the time to draw.  I think about it but I’m not exactly inspired by my prompts.  I’ve done two drawings and several sketches which doesn’t sound so bad when I write it here.  When I think of the prompts I have missed, I feel so behind.  I’m not sharing on facebook and there is so much silence in that group.

Goal 3: Read for Pleasure – I am slowly reading a great book.  I just can’t seem to stay focused on reading.  (I have a Dexter addiction that is taking over everything.)

Goal 4:  Daily Yoga – so much failure here but I think about it so maybe I can get myself into a routine.  I want to add a few more exercises.

Goal 5: Increase Store Income – this has been tough.  The spring is not the best time for sales apparently.  I’m working hard and see increases in our income as time goes on.  We’re learning how to cut some expenses but it seems like we’re constantly being hit.  I hate feeling like I can’t catch up.  This week, I’ll be working on our Etsy store and hopefully things will improve there.

Goal 6:  Join a CSA – it’s paid for and now all we can do is wait for the plants to grow.

Books –
I didn’t make it through the Lemony Snickett books.  I want to try them again.  Right now I am reading Born of Illusion by Teri Brown.  I do like it but as I said before I have a focus problem.

Movies –
I discovered the TV Show Dexter this month and can’t stop watching it.  I would give up sleep if I could.  I’m nearly done with the series and have nothing to replace it.  As for movies, what I can remember is we watched GI Joe Retaliation which was okay.  It was good for what it was.  We also watched Monsters University which is a great movie, especially for a sequel (prequel).  It’s typical – college students have potential but screw up.  They join a frat to be a part of the Scare Games.  They make a deal with the dean that if they win they get their places back in their program – see where this is going.  They are jerks but learn to value people while they go from underdog to winning team.  However, the ending caught me off guard.  We already know they get to follow their dreams because this is a prequel but how they do it impressed me.  I, highly, recommend this movie – if you like Disney.  I think it gives a great message but you have to watch it all the way through the credits to get the full story.

Music –
Not sure there’s anything new here.  We’ve watched Pink’s concert on Netflix three times because we love it.  My niece has discovered Katy Perry so I get a lot of that (and I am not complaining).  Can’t say I have discovered anything new there.

Well that was April – it was a blur of activity.  We did a big antique show at the end of the month (last weekend) and we are all so tired.  But April was a good month.  We learned a lot but are so grateful to have the month over.  I can’t wait to see what May has in store for us.

