Tags

, , , , , ,

Scones

This is why I haven’t been excited about taking pictures lately.  There is no natural light, at all, in my apartment right now so the pictures are terrible.  This is actually one of the best I’ve taken this winter at home.

Anyway, that’s not what we’re here for.  We’re here to talk scones.  I used to make scones all the time.  Why not, scones aren’t fancy.  Scones are technically biscuits with a different name.  In the US, scones have become weird pastries.  They are sweet, dry and can only be eaten when drenched with creams and jam and swallowed with tea.  I like those scones on occasion but the every day scone is something I have forgotten I loved.

When my husband and I were dating, we were living in separate time zones.  For some freaky reason our Food Network stations were in sync so we could watch that station as if we were in the same room.  Late at night, The Two Fat Ladies was on and quickly became our favorite show.  It’s their scone recipe that I use.  It’s the easiest recipe ever (I’ll post it at the end of the blog).

We haven’t eaten them in ages, I said that, so when my mom requested scones as part of her birthday gift I went back to this recipe.  We ate them before they could even get cold (a double batch).

I made them with gravy the next day (picture above).  These scones are light, flaky and perfect.  They do require butter but I think margarine is okay if you want to go there.  The jury is out on my feelings about margarine since coconut oil just didn’t work with my biscuits, I can’t imagine they would work with the scones.  Guess I’ll have to try it and let you know.

So here’s the recipe:

Scones

1 2/3 cup self-rising flour

4 tbs. butter

2/3 cup milk

Cut butter into flour until resembles cornmeal.  Mix in milk.  Drop onto baking sheet and bake at 425 for 10 minutes.

Sweet – add 1/4 cup sugar

Fruit – add 1/3 cup dried fruit and 2 tbs. sugar

Told you – easy.  I don’t even roll these out.  Sometimes I pat them into biscuit shape but more often than not, I drop them by large spoonfuls onto the cookie sheet and put them in the oven.  They are a bit crumbly because i’m not overly careful about not adding too much liquid.  They are, however, perfect for toppings (no dipping though).

