Tags

, , , ,

Rum Cake

Sorry I don’t have a picture of the final cake.  As usual, this was a recipe I wanted to experiment with and boy were they good.  I made two versions, so far, of this cake and they were great.  The first was pretty and didn’t last very long.  The other lasted a little longer but wasn’t exactly the kind of cake you wanted to take a picture of (it was ugly).

I first tasted this cake at work and had to have the recipe.  I made it fairly close to the original recipe (subbing tofu for the eggs).  I did make 2 slight changes – I used half the pecans because I ended up buying a smaller package than I thought and when I went to buy the pudding I couldn’t remember what size so I bought the larger size.  I just weighed it to make sure I only used half.

It’s awesome this way but my family wasn’t completely in love with the glaze.  It’s a lot of glaze and in our cold kitchen it ended up clumping at the bottom of the cake so every now and again you’d get a potent bit of glaze.

The next time I made it, I skipped the pecans and opted for a regular 9×13 cake pan.  It came out great.  Instead of the glaze, I took a container of chocolate frosting and melted it.  I added the rum for the glaze to the frosting and poured that over the cake.  I think that way, it needs just a little more rum because it wasn’t as strong as the first version.  However, I have discovered that it’s a cake recipe begging for experimentations.  I can imagine that this will easily translate to any cake mix and glaze combination.

Outside of the rum glaze, you have a very moist and delicious cake.  With the rum glaze you have something that’s just a little naughty (and so tasty).  Honestly, I have a problem with rum cake.  I love the stuff.  I can’t wait to keep up experimenting – chocolate cake with irish cream glaze for St. Pat’s day or strawberry cake with an amaretto glaze for V Day.  So many possibilities.

Here is the recipe my co-worker gave me.  He made a note that he added crushed pineapple.  I wasn’t sure how much or in place of what but I expect someday I’ll try that as well.

            AUNTIE MARCIA’S KILLER RUM CAKE

CAKE:

1 cup chopped pecans

1 18- ½ oz. yellow cake mix (*see note below)

l  3-3/4 pkg Jello Vanilla instant pudding & pie filling

4 eggs

½ c. cold water

½ c. oil

½ c. rum

*If using cake mix with pudding already in the mix—omit instant pudding, use 3 eggs instead of 4; 1/3 c. oil instead of ½.

 

GLAZE: 

¼ lb butter (1 stick)                 1 c. sugar

¼ c. water                               ½ c. rum

Melt butter in saucepan.  Stir in water & sugar.  Boil 5 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove pan from heat.  Stir in rum.  When adding the rum to the sugar/water mix, do so in very small increments.

 

To Assemble: 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Grease a 10” tube or 12 c. bundt pan.  Sprinkle nuts over bottom of pan.  Mix all cake ingredients.  Pour batter over nuts.  Bake l hour.  Cool.  Invert on serving plate.  Make holes in top of cake.  Spoon & brush glaze over top and sides.  Allow cake to absorb glaze.  Repeat until glaze is gone.

 

Helpful hints:

  1. Dark rum is more flavorful than light; I use Meyer’s dark rum.
  2. Toast the nuts before spreading them in the pan.       It brings out their flavor.
  3. When making holes in the cake, I use a long wooden skewer so the glaze can      penetrate the cake more deeply.
  4. When adding the rum to the sugar/water mix, do so in very small increments.  Otherwise it boils up and all hell      breaks loose.
  5. This is a great recipe to make a day ahead—it gets rummier as it sits.

 

 

 

           

