Tags

, , , , ,

Pickled Mushrooms

I thought I had shared this before but then couldn’t find the recipe so if I did, I don’t know where.  So in keeping up with my design class, I thought I’d share a couple of recipes over the next day or so.  My first assignment involving food was to just take a picture of something you cooked.  I know that pickled mushrooms are uncooked but it’s still a great recipe.

I love the teriyaki pickled mushrooms they sell with the olives at my local Safeway.  They don’t always have them and at nearly $8 a pound, I can’t always afford them.  My mom developed this recipe last year but we’ve all sort of forgot the particulars since she last made it.  I had been reusing the brine, just adding quartered mushrooms as I could get them.  This is a great snack and I am making this huge batch for Thanksgiving dinner (well with the idea that I can’t eat them all before Thanksgiving dinner).

So to make the brine – 1 part rice vinegar, 1 part soy sauce, 1 part pineapple juice.  You can substitute some sweetener in place of the pineapple juice but I found this was a nice ratio and gave the brine a sweet sour flavor.  Plus the acid in the pineapple juice helps with the vinegar to keep things from going bad.  This brine should last practically forever (except that the mushrooms do absorb it).

For this half gallon, I had about 1 cup of old brine so I made up new brine using full cups (1 cup vinegar, 1 cup soy sauce, 1 cup pineapple juice).  I added 2 pounds of whole mushrooms that I quartered.

Because the mushrooms are light, you will always have floaters so make sure to turn the jar over every now and again.  It takes 24-48 hours to fully brine the mushrooms so I do the first half with the jar upright and the second half with the jar upside down.  That way all the mushrooms get brining time.  And I want the top mushrooms to have the last brining time because I will be eating them first.

I’m sure there are wonderful things you can do with pickled mushrooms but like my pickled carrots – this is a dish for me.  I like them just as they are (except maybe in a little bowl with a fork).

While my picture is not the best (the background is too busy), I think the jar of mushrooms is so attractive.  How can you not love knowing that those wonderful little buttons are brewing in pure teriyaki bliss?  Yeah I didn’t think you could resist either.

The ingredients in this are not expensive, especially if you have a really good Asian market close.  I got 1 cup of pineapple juice from a can of crushed pineapple.  So why are we still talking about this – go make your own and I’ll let you know how this particular batch came out when I finish waiting impatiently for the brining to be done.

