Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t know why but Thursdays are the hardest days for me.  I can’t explain but when it comes to this blog – my brain freezes on Thursdays.  I have no energy.  I don’t want to do any projects and I definitely don’t feel like I have anything to say.

I think that’s not necessarily true.  I have lots to say but not necessarily a whole post worth and most likely something that may make someone not like me.  I have a real fear of not being liked.  I guess everyone does but sometimes it’s debilitating for me.  I get so afraid of offending someone that I am sure to do it.  I’m not necessarily one who pulls punches.  It’s just one of those things.  That nagging self doubt.

So I have a few thoughts to share.

I love pasta.  That may seem random but I recently realized that my love of pasta is strange.  Not the love of the pasta but what is served on the pasta.  I like marinara especially when it’s thick with veggies and some meat.  Just a plan thin tomato sauce on my pasta makes me want to cry.  Recently, I have reverted to my favorite style – a sour dairy sauce.  Don’t ask why because I can’t tell you but there was a time when my favorite topping on pasta was fruit vinaigrette with sour cream.  Not that long ago I made some pasta with lemon juice and seasonings.  This past weekend, I made a sauce out of melted goat cheese, lemon juice, salt, basil and oregano.  My family loved it and requested that I make a big batch of it.  I’m glad I did because not only is this wonderful – its better the next day.   So here’s the recipe – 2 pounds spaghetti noodles, 10 ounces goat cheese (I use the stuff from Costco), 3/4 cup lemon juice (cheap bottled is fine because the flavors change), 1 tablespoon salt, 1 tablespoon basil, 1 tablespoon oregano (seasonings can be to taste but you need a fair amount to blend in against the lemon juice).  After the pasta has cooked, dump in colander in sink and return pot to stove.  Melt goat cheese and add remaining sauce ingredients (if you make a smaller batch, you don’t even need to turn on the heat).  Dump back in the pasta and toss until coated.  Eat with shredded sharp cheddar to round out the flavor.  So awesome.  I made chili this week and I ate it over the pasta today for lunch.  I have a very happy tummy.

I often avoid politics because it just makes me crazy.  I do my research and I vote but I don’t often speak out.  However, this fall Washington is voting on I-522 – an initiative to label GMOs.  I will tell you that the only thing protected by defeating this initiative is huge chemical companies.  I am begging people to think about this and vote yes.  I’ve even said that if you don’t care, please vote yes.  It may not be a perfect initiative but it will send a message that we can’t be bought.

The change in weather is kicking my butt and I am so tired.  I’ve read a bunch of graphic novels and watched documentaries trying to pass the time.  I should share but I can’t remember anything interesting at this moment.

