Tags

, , ,

I just have one of those brains.  I can’t stand when people don’t seem to get “it”, whether it’s their skewed view of reality or just blatant ignorance.  I’ve talked about my struggle with people who don’t follow the rules but lately my biggest struggle has been people and their insistence to pass on false information.  It’s far too easy these days to perpetuate false information and feel like we are educating our friends and family.  I’m sure I have been at fault since I have this anti-Montsanto agenda (I’ve done research but not on every piece of information I share).

The one that prompted this post was one that stated that by saying LOL you are actually supporting devil worshiping because LOL means Lucifer Our Lord.  The friend that shared it, did so as proof of how stupid some people are but the saddest part is that there are people out there who truly believe it.

One that just sets me off is the one about taxes.  I can’t remember what it says exactly but basically it says we didn’t pay taxes until 1913.  The first time I saw that I knew it was wrong.  How is it that anyone who has gone to school doesn’t question it?  I’m not an American history expert but wasn’t the Boston Tea Party about taxes?  Robin Hood – it’s all about taxes.  (One more – the whole reason Joseph and Mary had gone to Bethlehem was because it was tax time.)  That was enough for me to pause and say I don’t think this is right.  A very quick google search and I knew it was misleading.  1913 was when the Federal government started the current Federal income tax – that’s it.  We were taxed prior to that.  But people don’t stop to think about it or question, it fits their values enough that they share.

It makes me crazy.  I’m not one to not research.  When I was first in college, I had a bunch of friends who considered themselves witches.  I remember one of them telling me that they read the Malleus Maleficarum.  I got my hand on a copy and read it.  I have to tell you that anyone who says they read it and doesn’t feel tainted by it is lying or a psychopath.  It was horrifying to read.  Malleus Maleficarum translates to Witch’s Hammer and many have perpetuated the belief that it’s the Witch’s Bible or a sacred text for witches.  They are sadly mistaken.  It’s a book for witch hunters written during the inquisition.  It’s a long painful description on why women are evil and should be killed.  It talks of torture and murder and it’s all directed at women (or what I read, not sure I actually was able to get through the entire book).  It was written by two monks who felt they were doing God’s work.  Men who I believe really hated women.  When I read stories that talk about this book it makes me sad and know that the author is an idiot.

I’m a nerdy kind of gal who really likes weird trivia.  Sadly, it only points out how the rest of the world really are more sheep like than I thought.  I always believe people are deep thinkers because I am (and aren’t you all just like me).  I’m not one to take things at face value.  I like questioning things.  I like learning those little tidbits.  I also have one of those brains that really hates it when conflicting information is presented.  I hate it when things that people try to pass off as facts are not true.  It’s like someone would rather hold to their hate and anger than stop and listen to the truth.  Maybe that’s just me.  I’m cranky this week and more sensitive to all the negativity that surrounds us.  I’m tired of negativity.  I’m thinking now is a good time for a retreat.  Instead, I’m going to take a moment to share with you some of the things that just make me crazy and maybe you’ll learn something that will make you just as crazy.

Guy Fawkes Masks – You know these masks, it’s the one the main character in V is for Vendetta wears.  It’s become a symbol for revolution and anti-government.  Why it makes me crazy – Guy Fawkes was part of a plot to overthrow King James – not for the people but for the Catholic church.  They wanted King James out because he was Protestant.  His daughter Elizabeth was Catholic so by killing him, Elizabeth would be queen and the Catholic church would have their power back.  It had nothing to do with freeing the people or against the government.  I can’t say for certain but I think King James was probably a decent king (as they go) which is why they wanted to get rid of him.

The Upside Down Cross – when I learned this little tidbit it just made me laugh.  Another proof that those who claim to be Satanists are just idiots.  I have nothing against people worshiping Satan – to each their own but if you are going to worship anything, I think you should do so with your eyes open.  I believe strongly in educating yourself.  Even Jesus said to question but that’s another rant.  The Upside Down Cross was not created by Satanists but by a pope.  I can’t remember who as I write this and I don’t think it’s that important.  He felt that he was not worthy and so turned his cross upside down to show humility.  (Please look this up yourself because I know my knowledge is not 100% because I’m not quite remembering the story.)  In the end, the upside down cross was actually started by a Christian not someone who was anti-Christian which makes all those horror movies seem so silly.

I know there are more but this isn’t really a post about misunderstood symbols, it’s about taking the time to do a little research.  Make sure you have a logical understanding of something before you perpetuate it.  I think, in the end, it makes you look smarter (and sadly, others look less smart).  In this world of technology there is no reason for us not to take the minute it takes to google something to see if it’s fact or not.

I will say that my two favorite places for information is cracked and snopes.  I visit cracked to read their articles and more often than not they give me lots of food for thought (I even go from there to looking up things just to make sure they are factual).  Sometimes, I read cracked because it’s just funny.

Snopes is great for fact checking, especially anything on facebook or that comes in your email.  They aren’t always up to date with everything but I find most things can be checked there.  If I can’t find it there then it’s on to trusty google.

