Tags

, , , ,

Summer Reading

This post series has been about finding ways to encourage more reading, whether for yourself or for your child.  Now I have nothing against a good book but sometimes I find myself gravitating to books that are part of a series over books that stand alone.  The reason is, I love reading and sometimes it’s really hard to give up the characters so a series gives me more.  I love finding a series that has several books instead of jumping in at the very beginning (even though that happens too).  I like that because I often can sit and read them in a row.  That sometimes is worse because I then find myself hating the fact that I read several books and now have to wait.  I’m not a patient person because I’m really forgetful.  I will forget to look for the next book.

That’s why I love Fictfact.  If you are a massive reader this is the site for you, or if you want to be.  Fictfact tracks books in a series.  You pick the series you want to or are reading and then check off the books you have read.  It will alert you to new books in the series (sometimes it falls behind).  The only disappointing part of the website is they aren’t good for those who read graphic novels and manga.  I’d love if they’d track those but they don’t (unless it’s a really popular one).

Okay so I have some recommendations.  These are series that I have read.  In many cases, I have read them to the end.  Some are still being written.

Juvenile:

Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley
Spiderwick Chronicles and Beyond Spiderwick by Holly Black
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Maryrose Wood (I picked up this series just because I loved the title but it’s a great read)
Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
Geronimo Stilton

Young Adult:

Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer
Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine
Maximum Ride by James Patterson
Kingdom Keepers by Ridley Pearson
Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo
Keys to the Kingdom by Garth Nix
Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Adult:

Hannah Swenson Mysteries by Joanne Fluke
Goldy Schulz Culinary Mysteries by Diane Mott Davidson
Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz
The Dark Tower by Stephen King
Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs
Mrs. Polifax by Dorothy Gilman (these are older books but how can you not love a retired woman who looks like your grandmother and is a secret agent)

 

