Tags

, , ,

DIY Shake and Bake

It’s not a great picture but I got to tell you that homemade shake and bake is awesome.

We keep a large bowl on our fridge for those bits of bread that gets dried out or just aren’t desirable for eating.  It’s been my plan to make breadcrumbs out of the mess.  We wanted chicken for dinner and my son suggested shake and bake.  I think he was kidding but I sent him to the computer for a recipe and I went about grinding up breadcrumbs.  I chose flavored breads for this particular batch – bits of olive and cheese breads as well as a chunk of something covered in sesame seeds.

DIY Shake and Bake

Grinding up that entire bowl took about 10 minutes and made great breadcrumbs.  I dumped them into a colander over a bowl to catch any large pieces.

DIY Shake and Bake

The trick to shake and bake is to mix your bread crumbs with a little oil.  I chose to season with Bay Seasoning and onion powder.  The result was something that tasted like the package.

DIY Shake and Bake

4 cups bread crumbs

1/3 cup oil

2 Tablespoons Bay Seasoning

1 Tablespoon Onion Powder

1 teaspoon pepper

Mix together and store in a ziplock bag.

To add to chicken – place chicken in a separate bag and add 1/3 cup at a time until covered.

