Tags

, , , ,

Welcoming Spring

We’re five days and counting for our kickstarter campaign.  I was thinking about our campaign and realized that it ends on Easter.  It occurred to me how appropriate this date is for our project.  I hadn’t thought of it before but this time of year is all about renewal.  For those who believe in Christianity – this is the time that Christ was resurrected and given new life.  For those who are more natural in their beliefs, this is a time of fertility (giving of new life) and rebirth.  For the Jews – it’s Passover, the celebration of the liberation of the Israelites from Egypt.

For me, this spring means my own rebirth.  The opening of our store and gallery gives me new life and a chance to recreate who I am.  On top of that, we hope to use the space to give new life to the items we sell.  We will be rescuing items from the garbage and giving them a chance to be used again.

In the end, it seems appropriate that we are opening in the spring.  I feel like a new person coming to life.  It’s painful and wonderful all at the same time.  I’m afraid but I have hope and isn’t that what it’s all about.

I am far out of my comfort zone lately but I can’t retreat now.  There are five days left for us to beg for money through kickstarter.  I hope you will take the time to look over our campaign, watch our video and pledge some money.  I’m thinking of having some extra incentives for those who pledge and help us meet our goal.  Kickstarter only funds a project if the entire goal is met.  We can meet our goal with as little as 18 people pledging $100 each.  I know our rewards are designed for those in our area – but we’re willing to offer a bit more to those outside of the area (so let us know how we can make the pledging more appealing to you).  Not willing to contribute $100, I completely understand.  72 people pledging $25 will get us there as well.  Pledge and then challenge your friends to match your pledge.

World’s End will be so much more than just a store.  We hope to be a place of sanctuary.  It will be a beacon for those wanting to be more creative.  With support, we’ll be able to stretch our boundaries past the store walls.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1536787687/worlds-end-community-oriented-gallery-project

 

