Tags

, , , , , ,

Hummus

One of the things me and my husband love is hummus.  It is such a treat.  In the past, I have tried to make it from scratch.  I can’t tell you what I did wrong but it never came out.  In fact, the last time I was going to post about hummus, I had made an imperfect batch but it was tasty.

Then I had a party and I really wanted to have something savory on the snack table that was allergy friendly.  I went back to hummus.  We make big batches of beans and freeze them so I knew I could whip this up quickly.

I’ve been collecting ingredients to make hummus over the last few months – sesame seeds to grind into my own tahini, pickled garlic cloves, garbonzo beans, etc.  I knew I could make a great batch if only I just tried one more time.

The batch you see in the picture was not only amazing but when the party was over my husband and I ate it with a spoon.  It was wonderful – smooth, flavorful.  My second batch was not as smooth since my beans did not cook as nicely but man it was still so good.  I just dip my finger, skip anything else.

The best part is – it is so easy to make and only messes up 1 container (minus what you serve it in).

You need two cups of cooked garbonzo beans.  I don’t recommend canned garbonzo beans only because they have a tendency to taste real funky.  I don’t what happens in the canning process but every can we have bought and tried tasted a lot like a barn floor (and I’ve been in enough barns to know what I am talking about).  So gross.

I start with making my own tahini – about 2 tablespoons of sesame seeds and 2 tablespoons of oil (we use canola but olive oil would be traditional).  Blend that in the food processor or blender until mostly smooth.

Add the beans and puree just a little.  I let the motor run and drop everything down the shoot in my food processor.  Add lemon juice.

I’ve been using pickled garlic cloves so I pull them out of the brine and give them a quick rinse because my brine is saturated with herbs.  You can use fresh.  So add those to the mix.

At this point, stop the motor and check the consistency.  I found that the oil from the tahini is enough so I don’t add anymore but if you use store bought tahini then you’ll want to make sure to add the oil.

I turn the motor back on and slowly add the water, stopping now and again to check consistency.  The first time I made the hummus I used all the water, the second time took a lot less.  I think it was the difference between frozen and freshly cooked beans.

Flavor with salt, turmeric and cumin.  I’ve been actually leaving out the turmeric because I’m nearly out and found the flavor is just perfect.

I got the tahini instructions and the hummus recipe from Food52 but I can’t tell you which recipe exactly since I made my own notes.

We serve the hummus with crackers (goes nicely with wheat thins or plentils), carrot sticks and warm pita bread.  Feel free to garnish with olives and feta or other goat cheese.

 

 

 

Hummus

2 cups garbonzo beans

3-4 T lemon juice

2 cloves garlic

2 T tahini

1 ½ teas salt

1 T olive oil

150 ml water

½ teas cumin

½ teas turmeric

Blend in food processor until smooth.  Serve with pita bread and vegetables.

