Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Peanut Butter Cookies

This is what you get when you ask your husband to plate cookies and take a picture.  By the time he got around to taking it, most of the cookies were gone.  I promise there’s a much better picture at the end of this post.

These peanut butter cookies may not seem like an allergy friendly recipe but they are the best*.  We found this recipe ages ago back when our big goal with food was to make it homemade.  It was early in my married life and these cookies quickly became a family favorite.

They are so easy that I have literally gone home on my lunch hour and returned with a batch of cookies.  I call them my 2-2-2 cookies – 2 cups peanut butter, 2 cups sugar, 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons baking soda, 1 teaspoon vanilla.  How easy is that?  I don’t even have to check the recipe anymore (I will post it at the end of the post).

When we became gluten-free, these cookies were a life saver.  I started using this recipe as a base for many other cookies.  I was adding oatmeal and chocolate chips so we could have something a little different every now and again.  They are so forgiving.

Now we’ve continued the experiments and over the weekend we made them without eggs, subbing 1/2 cups of applesauce.  The end result are the cookies up above.  My second batch I subbed 1/2 cup honey for 1 cup of the sugar and I used an all natural peanut butter as well as the applesauce.  The result was a different looking cooking with that amazing peanut butter taste with just a hint of honey coming through.

The only problem with this cookie is that it is soft and you really need to leave it on the cookie sheet to become completely cool before moving it.  My family has gotten good at determining how cool it needs to be to slip it off the cookie sheet without it crumbling into a mess.  They are also great at scooping it into their mouth without losing any of it while it’s too warm to hold up.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Isn’t that a pretty picture?  Just to let you know the white cookies are a shortbread mix we made with coconut oil and then thinned melted chocolate chips with a little half and half and drizzled on top.  They are awesome but I’m going to have to come up with a real recipe for them.

Peanut Butter Cookies

2 cups peanut butter

2 cups sugar

2 lg eggs

2 teas baking soda

1 teas vanilla

Cream peanut butter and sugar.  Add eggs and remaining ingredients.  Roll into 1 inch balls and place 2 inches apart on baking sheet.  With tines of fork, press down on cookie.  Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.  Cool for a few minutes before removing to a rack.  Cool completely (they are really soft when warm and harden as they cool).

* for those with a peanut allergy, use sunbutter or almond butter – they come out just as nice.

