Tags

, , ,

Hanging with TJ Brown

TJ Brown, or Teri as her friends call her, has so graciously offered to spend some time hanging out during her promotion of her new book Summerset Abbey.  Set in 1913 London, Summerset Abbey follows the trials of Rowena and Victoria Buxton and their friend Prudence Tate in the aftermath of the death of their guardian.  This is the first of three books.

Teri has been through a number of trials herself.  She has survived a brain tumor and throat cancer while still writing.  That’s amazing to me.  I guess I have no more excuses.

I asked Teri a few questions about her book but what I really want to know is what are some of the fun things that Teri enjoys.  The woman practically is my neighbor since she lives in Portland.  Okay so it’s still across the state of Washington and into Oregon but I feel like she’s so close.  Everyone’s talking about her book and her cancer so I wanted to step away a little and just ask those questions we all want to ask.

What prompted you to write this story?

I have always loved the Edwardian period, but after Downton Abbey aired, I really wanted to write something in that period. I told my agent, we should pitch an Edwardian and she asked me what I had in mind. 5 weeks later I had a contract for a three book Edwardian series!

Why this time period?

Though I’ve always been interested in the time period, (I read Amanda, Miranda, by Richard Peck when I was sixteen) I can come right out and say it was Downton Abbey that got my creative juices going. There is just something so lush and poignant about that time period because in retrospect, we know we are watching the dying of a way of life. Yes, that way of life was highly romanticized…only a miniscule percentage of the population in England actually lived that way, but it is still great fun to watch.

What character from Summerset Abbey is your favorite?  Why?

Victoria. In all of my books I have at least one over the top character and in Summerset Abbey, Victoria is the one. She is smart and imaginative and she says almost everything that comes into her mind. I adore her. Even though all girls are featured, Bloom in Winter is her book, and I had such an awesome time working on it!

In my ya book, Born of Illusion, the over the top character is the protagonists mother. I’m not sure if I think I am an over the top character or if I wish I were an over the top character!

I took a moment to ask Teri if she had ever been to London.  Like me, she hasn’t but that doesn’t mean she doesn’t dream about a land that no longer exists.  What is it about Edwardian London that makes us all want to risk cholera and go back in time?

Oh well, back to the best parts of the interview.

Do you play croquet?  I always picture that as a large part of the fun with historical novels.

I have played croquet and we have actually gone to some croquet parties… playing at night after a couple of cocktails is so much fun. So probably not the dignified and elegant as in English novels though!

Tell me about living in Portland.

I love my city and have yet to visit a city that is eclectic, weird and all around wonderful as Portland is. Have you seen the show Portlandia? THAT IS WHAT IT’S LIKE! It’s a city with all the cultural advantages of a city, but it has a uniquely small town feel. And it’s beautiful. And clean. And we have the best beer. Did I mention that I love my city?

What food did you crave while writing this book?

Comfort food! I had throat cancer while writing this book and was undergoing radiation treatments. Eating was problematic to say the least! What I wanted more than anything was macaroni and cheese, meatloaf, fried chicken, etc. What I got were protein shakes and soft boiled eggs!

If you lived in this book, what would be your favorite food?

They ate really, really well in the Edwardian period. At least the rich did! I would probably go for bangers and mash! (More comfort food) though the pudding sounds really good!

*For those who don’t know bangers and mash is potatoes and sausage.  This is one of our favorites.

What about music?  Was there something in particular you listened to that got you in the mood for writing this book?

I listened to a lot of ragtime during the writing of this book, just to get me in the mood. Scott Joplin, who wrote The Entertainer, was very popular during the Edwardian time period and I loved his work. I also love Let Me Call You Sweetheart by Leo Friedman and Beth Slater Whitson and Alexander’s Ragtime Band by Irving Berlin.

When you are not writing, what do you do for a creative outlet?

I love to cook as long as it’s not day in and day out. Now that my children are grown, I am able to be much more creative in my cooking. I got a food processor and an immersion blender for Christmas and I couldn’t have been happier!

What do you do for fun?

I love to read and watch mindless television. I also really love to hike and luckily in Oregon, you have no end of fabulous places to hike!

After Summerset Abbey, what will you be writing?

I have another adult historical series in mind after this is done and of course, I will be finishing out my YA series!

Will you continue with historical novels?

Absolutely! I have a few contemporary ideas, but honestly, I really love the Edwardian period as well as the twenties. I may write contemporary again, but I am not pitching any right now.

Now for the question that we’re all dying to know the answer to.

What’s your favorite Voodoo Donut?

Maple bacon, of course!

MMM Maple Bacon!  Makes me want to plan a trip to Portland right now.  I can make a quick stop at Bob’s Red Mill and stock up on all those goodies.  I hear Christian Kane’s been performing down there and at this moment he’s playing on my Pandora.  Maybe Teri will join me and show off her favorite spots.

Portland is one of those cool places and I have loved every visit.  Next time, I might have the opportunity to sit down with Teri over a VooDoo donut and talk her next book.  In the meantime, check out Summerset Abbey – on sale now.