Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sweet and Sour Pork

This used to be one of those meals I made all the time but I can’t tell you why I stopped.  The recipe makes a ton of sauce so be prepared and you can serve it over anything.  We usually do pork or chicken and rice.  I rarely bread the meat just because it’s an added pain in the butt.

I will say that this time I made the sauce and had to make several substitutes.  I used my pineapple zucchini in place of the crushed pineapple.  When we opened the jar, it had no flavor but I used it anyway.  For those who forgot or missed my zucchini post, I canned zucchini in pineapple juice because the rumor was it was just like canned pineapple.  I didn’t find that.  It didn’t even have a hint of pineapple flavor but oh well.

The other thing was we were out of ketchup.  I don’t do runs to the store for one ingredient if I can help it.  So I opened up a quart of canned tomatoes and strained out all the bits so it was as much like sauce as possible.  I used this in place of the ketchup and water.  To be honest, the sauce came out tasting like it always does.  Oh I did skip the green peppers because we were supposed to have company that doesn’t do peppers.

To make up the meat, I just cubed up boneless pork chops and fried them slowly.  You’ll notice all the room in the pan between meat pieces.  This assures that the meat will brown.  If you crowd the pieces then the water in them will actually prevent browning and your meat will be a dingy grey color.  It tastes the same under the sauce.

I plan on trying to can this sauce sometime soon.  There should be no problems with water canning this recipe since it’s highly acidic.

One more note – I buy what I think is the normal sized can of pineapple.  Over the years the size has changed but it’s about the size of a pint jar or just a little smaller.  If you need to measure I would say about 1 1/2 cups of crushed pineapple.  Much of this recipe is to taste as well.  Taste often and adjust.  Sometimes I add just a bit more sugar because the pineapple is less sweet.  Feel free to sub fresh pineapple – just cut it up in little bits or pulse in a blender.

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1 onion, diced

1-2 green peppers, diced

1 can crushed pineapple with juice

1 1/3 cup brown sugar

1 1/3 cup vinegar

4 tbs. soy sauce

2 tbs. Worcestershire sauce

4 tbs. cornstarch

1 cup cool water

1 cup ketchup

Mix cornstarch into water until smooth.  Add all the ingredients into a large saucepan and cook until thickened.  Serve over meat and rice.

