Tags

, , , , ,

I promised that I would finish up this section of the house with how to use hidden elements.  Some of these are less hidden than others as I realize that I forgot a few little details in my last post.

So let’s start with raiding the house for helpful decorating tidbits.  I dug through my craft box and the box of odds and ends Feng Shui/Chinese items I have picked up over the years.  I guarantee that you will have something in all those stuff boxes at your house, I know that no matter how hard I try to organize my home – I still have that stuff box or drawer.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

This is what I found – a roll of red velvet ribbon, red paint in bottles and in markers, a red chinese shirt gift bag, red lace, a red chinese fan, red paper, a wooden heart  wind chime craft, wooden triangle and hearts, two small square mirrors, a red chinese fabric box, and a chinese hanging decoration (I have no idea what it actually is except that it had green flat beads).  Not a bad haul for a quick search around the house.  I didn’t use all of these in my decorating but it gave me choices as I worked on the space.

The first thing I noticed that needed to be fixed was our clock.  I have to keep a clock in the bathroom because I’m a terrible morning person.  It keeps me on schedule so I have time to eat my breakfast before I leave for work.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

I started by comparing items I could add to the back.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

I choose a paint pen, the ribbon and the lace.  I went for the ribbon, mostly because it was plain and would be easy.  All I did was cut triangles and glue them on the back.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

Suddenly my clock became a neutral object since the fire of the ribbon counter-acted the water of the black.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

For the scale, I opted to paint the triangles because it gets moved often so the ribbon would eventually be rubbed off.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

For items that sit on the counter, we painted the wooden triangles and hearts to slip inside.  This is a wet wipe container and when I went to refill it I realized that it wouldn’t work so my husband glued a triangle to the top.  I didn’t get a picture.  He also glued one to our blue toothbrush holder.  Oh well, it makes him happy and I don’t pay that much attention to them to care.

As for our magazine rack –

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

The large openings allowed me to weave ribbon around the top.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

I secured the whole thing with a straight pin with a red top (note my wonderful helper who thought the ribbon was a great choice).  You barely notice the ribbon when using the bathroom which worked for me.  I liked how it looked but it just offers that subtle tie in.

Feng Shui: Fame and RelationshipsI replaced the trash can with this red one that was in our bedroom.  I don’t know if I mentioned that having trash cans in the prosperity corner is not good so we moved them out.  I’m not sure I like the lid because it makes it more difficult to actually get stuff inside but it looks nicer.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

I’m not 100% sure what this was but my husband thinks it came with candy.  It’s just a little mesh bag that was from the Chinese New Year (the symbols mean Happy New Year).  I loved that the people on the bag were a little boy and little girl.  I used it to replace the plastic bag I was using for my hair ties.

The last thing I want to share is where I moved the wind chime that was originally in our bathroom.

Feng Shui: Fame and Relationships

This is the space or entry way into our bedroom.  The main door opens to a wall.  The bedroom is to the left and the door to the bathroom is behind the open bedroom door.  I worried that the energy might get stagnant here and I so desperately wanted it to flow well into what I feel is the most important section of the house.

I didn’t take a picture after I hung the wind chime and I’m sorry but I want you to start noticing these areas in your home.  Wind chimes and crystals are a nice touch.  However, most people don’t look up so don’t feel self-conscious when you do so.

 

