Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been feeling blue, I don’t know if I have mentioned that.  I feel like it has consumed my entire life.  I’m miserably unhappy.  I hate that I still live in an apartment when my soul craves to be in a farmhouse with land to roam.  I hate that my car broke down and I can’t afford to fix it (it’s also nearly paid off).  I just feel overwhelmed with no relief in sight.

This is one of those life happens sort of problems.  There’s not much I can do to actually change what’s happening – or can I.  This is where I believe Feng Shui comes into play.  Feng Shui is the Chinese art of room placement.  It can be a complex and difficult process.

I discovered Feng Shui when my son was small.  I had purchased a book on the art and struggled for years trying to make sense of it.  I had astrological charts that I tried to match up with elemental and color charts.  I tried to figure out the axis of my house and why on earth couldn’t the designers of our community put the houses on a North/South axis instead of this Northwest/Southeast axis.  I cried a lot through the process.

Then my cousin introduced me to a book called Move Your Stuff, Change Your Life.  This was a simplified version of Feng Shui that had you create an “axis” based on the location of your front door.  Instead of dividing your house up into “corners” by compass, you started at your front door.

In Feng Shui, your home is made up of nine segments or corners.  Each corner represents a particular aspect of your life – Prosperity/Abundance, Fame/Reputation, Relationship/Marriage/Love, Creativity/Children, Helpful People/Travel, Career/Life Path, Skills and Knowledge/Wisdom, Family, and Health.

Each corner is represented by an element and color scheme.  It’s not as complicated as it feels once you start actually playing with it.  The corners blend and bleed into one another until your home becomes a complete cycle of energy.

For me, Feng Shui is a way to have power when I feel like I have none.  I have learned to make items to boost the power of energy to one area.  This gives me doable goals.  When I can do nothing else, I can clean, declutter and decorate my home.  Just the act makes me feel better.

Feng Shui requires a clean environment so it encourages me and my family to not put off cleaning up.  While we’re in the process, everything gets a good dusting, broken items get thrown out and projects get completed because we can’t finish decorating if the fabric I bought isn’t turned into curtains or that picture isn’t framed.

It doesn’t cost a ton of money and I will prove it to you.  Over the next few weeks, I will be sharing how we Feng Shui our apartment.  I’m going to attempt to draw floor plans and take lots of pictures so you can see how we enhance each part of our house.

This is a tough assignment for me because I’ll be sharing each little project that may not be Martha Stewart quality.  We won’t be spending big money to do this.  However, I do want to disclose that my husband and I bought a new bed.  This happened before our decision to Feng Shui and thankfully it fits into the scheme.  That also happened before the car broke down.

Our first stop is Prosperity because our finances are a mess and so is our room.

