Tags

, ,

Mother’s Curse is a book I’ve been thinking about writing for years.  The problem is that I’m not sure how to write it or what my point with the book is.  The concept is simple enough – I want to write about raising a child just like me.  The problem – we’re both neuro-atypical (that means we have abnormal brain chemistry/design).  I’m, also, terribly unfocused.

I wanted the book to be about me and my child but it’s hard to write a book like that without involving the rest of my family.  The problem there is I’m just not sure they are all ready for what I have to say about being raised in this family and my observations.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my family.  We’re creepy and kooky.  We’re artsy and unique but I also believe that we are all neuro-atypical.  How do I go there without offending them all?

Today I was talking with my mom.  We get to talking about genetics and all the quirkiness that is our family and I remember how desperately I want to write this book.  The thing is – I don’t want to write a memoir.  I want to write an exploration of what it’s like to be different.  I want to talk about what it’s like to raise a child just like me and how hard that is.  You’d think it would be easy but it’s not.  I can understand and empathize but when we both hit stubborn – time stands still.  We’re both distractable so it’s hard for me to keep him on task when someone needs to keep me on the task of keeping him on task.

I want to share how much I have learned about myself as I raise my child.  How I have become a better and deeper person.  I want to talk about how our school systems fail children like my son and I.  How the right teacher makes a huge difference.  I want to talk about how the world should be more like us instead of us being more like the rest of the world.

I want to talk about living in a neuro typical world and how frustrating that is.  I want to talk about our genetics and how brain chemistry might hold the answer to disease and behavior – more than what they currently talk about.  Could eating disorders be a sign of OCD?  Is OCD bad?  Is Autism/ADHD really something to be ashamed of?

I once said that my son has a social disease.  There’s nothing wrong with him except that he doesn’t fit into society.  That’s okay – I don’t think I ever fit into society the way I should have.  Over the years, I have met so many wonderful women who have some sort of neuro atypical issue which leads me to wonder – is there such a thing as neuro typical?  What does that mean anyway?

So, I have decided that I will start here.  I’ll be writing bits of the “book” here and maybe at one point I’ll figure out what it is I want to say for 100,000 words or I’ll find that everything I want works here.  I want to hear your stories as well.  Share them in the comments or email me and I’ll put them in a post.

