Tags

, , , , , , ,

I picked up a copy of The Art of Fermentation from the library.  This is an odd book because there’s not really any recipes.  There’s a ton of information on various fermenting techniques but you have to work for each recipe you want to extract from it.

I browsed through the book and found a section on kombucha.  Each section is not all that long but the weirdest information is in there.  The part that intrigued was things that people do to extra kombucha mothers (or scoby).

One person actually dries the mothers to make clothing.  Others for art but the one that caught my attention was turning the mothers into candy.  There’s a few techniques mentioned but only one that is explained with detail.

I had two very thick mothers and several thinner ones so I wanted to see how to make the candy.  I chose the two thick mothers (according to the book you want them at least 1/2 inch thick).

Using scissors, I cut them into bite sized pieces.

Wash and soak in cold water for ten minutes.  Drain and repeat soaking for ten minutes.  Drain and transfer to a pot.

Cover with water, bring to a boil and boil for ten minutes.  Drain and repeat.

Once you drain it after the second boil, cover the kombucha with sugar.

Bring that to a boil and boil for 15 minutes.  The sugar will turn into a syrup that coats the kombucha.  After 15 minutes, remove the kombucha with a slotted spoon and set on a cookie sheet.  Bake on a low heat (I used 200) until the candy is dry.  Let cool and enjoy.

I forgot to take a picture of the finished product but it looked alot like picture number two (chopped kombucha).  It’s not very sweet candy nor does it have much flavor.  Cooking it like this kills all the probiotics so it’s just candy.  It’s weird, funky candy but it’s fun.   I think it’ll make a great addition to a Halloween party.

It’s not difficult candy to make.  Now there are some notes about how to keep the kombucha raw which I believe will give it flavor since it seems like all the rinsing and boiling removed any trace of that apple-y cider goodness.  Next time, I’ll try just rinsing it well and covering with sugar or a cooled syrup.  Might be good with a fruit syrup.  I could leave it to air dry on racks or something.

I’ll let you know.  In the meantime, this was fun and we’re enjoying the candy.

 

