Tags

, ,

Some people, like me, are just naturally in motion all the time.  I can’t help it, I just get bored sitting still.  I have learned to use this to my advantage.  Studies have shown that those who fidget have less weight problems than those who don’t.  I’m not sure I believe that but I do believe that fidgeting is a great part of a balanced fitness routine, especially when you actively fidget.

Fidgeting is defined as to move about restlessly, nervously or impatiently.  For the sake of this post, we’re going to focus on the restless part.  I think that’s my main fidget problem.  I’m not one who likes to sit for long periods and I have a job that requires I sit at a desk for eight hours a day.  My desk is filled with projects because I can’t just sit for that long.  I need stimulus.

One of the things I do to keep my brain engaged in the task is to take full advantage of my swivelly chair.  I work on having good posture to keep my physical therapist impressed so I sit with my feet on the floor, knees about 90 degrees and I swivel from side to side.  Sometimes I just move so that the inside of my foot lifts just off the floor.  Other times, I lift my heels and let my ankles rotate.  This is a smooth fluid motion so that I don’t damage my joints or pull muscles.

My chair is on wheels on a hard floor so I can push and pull my chair using the muscles in my legs.  I used to rock in my chair but I have a new chair that no longer rocks so I have to compromise with the push/pull motion.

Stretching now and again could be part of your fidgeting routine.  I sometimes push away from my desk and then do an awkward toe touch (the front of my chair is squishy and I’m afraid of falling off).

Can you think of other ways to fidget?

Remember: Don’t do anything that hurts and if you have a medical issue that could be made worse with these exercises then please consult your doctor.  As I have said before, I am not a licensed physician and this is a routine I made up for myself.

