Tags

, , ,

I thought I’d take a moment and clarify the giveaway for those who might be confused.  Above is a sample of some of the challenges that slimkicker has.  The idea is to find something that will help change your habits and get us all healthy.

I’m starting a few of my own challenges.  The first is, as I mentioned before, we’re going to be doing an elimination diet during the next couple of months.  Another is that during the month of October, I’ll be participating in October Unprocessed.  I watched the challenge last year and this year I’ll be doing it.  The idea is to spend the entire month eating foods that are not processed.  That doesn’t mean you have to make everything from scratch but everything you eat should resemble homemade.  For us, I have already started making so much from scratch that this would be a challenge to give in to homemade completely.  If you want more information or to join me go to Eating Rules.

I’ve gotten out the habit of working out in my office so that’s something I want to work on.  I have my routine and plan on doing it five days a week.  I might need to shake it up some just so my muscles don’t get bored.

The other thing we are working on is marathon training.  We walk two miles on Sunday trying to get everyone in the family to walk a twenty minute mile.  We then hope to add miles until we can walk 8 miles in less than 3 hours.  Over time we hope to make that shorter but you have to start somewhere.  We’ve stopped because it’s been dangerously hot to walk that much during the day and we don’t seem to have time in the evening.  The goal is to find a way to keep us walking even if the weather is not great.

That’s a few challenges that might not sound like much on paper but are far more difficult in real life.  I’ll share more about the elimination diet later this week (or maybe next week as we get into it).

