Tags

, , ,

This might be a repeat of information I have shared in the past but I wanted to have it in an easily identifiable post.  When it comes to leg exercises, I do a lot of walking so what I do in my office is just a little of the same.  It’s not overly interesting to share but I still feel it’s good information.  Sometimes someone needs to share something we can figure out on our own for it to click.  I stole these ideas from Sit and Be Fit but I gave them their own names.

Extended Leg Chair Walk- sitting on the edge or close to the edge of your chair, knees bent at a 90 degree angle, back straight.  Extend your leg as if you were going to take a step.  Pull it back to starting position.  Repeat with the other side.

Chair Walking (toes first, heels first) – In the same position as the Extended Leg Chair Walk.  Lift one leg and then the other as if marching.  Do one set with your foot flat or your toes slightly pulled up.  Do a second set with your toes pointed down.

Squeeze Knees – In your starting position (edge of chair, knees at 90 degrees, straight back).  Relax your thighs so your knees are comfortably apart.  Squeeze with your thighs until your knees touch.  Hold for 2-3 seconds.  Think Thighmaster.

I start a new exercise with a set of ten.  I like to vary the speed in which I do the exercises.  Doing them slow works the muscles a little more while doing them fast works the joints more.  When they become too easy then I increase the set number by five.

Don’t do anything that hurts and if you have a medical issue that could be made worse with these exercises then please consult your doctor.  As I have said before, I am not a licensed physician and this is a routine I do for myself.

