Tags

, , , , ,

The month of August often is the month of harvest here in the Palouse.  Not only are farmer’s busy in the fields but home gardens are overburdened with bounty.  It’s an interesting month as my scrawny little plants transform into heavy bushes, filled with more food than we feel we can use.  It’s my favorite time.  It’s a time of canning and eating fresh foods that we gathered ourselves.

This is a great month for some healthy challenges.  On August 11th, my family will follow an elimination diet.  My mom has been on this same diet for the past few weeks and says she’s never felt better.  My dad gave up dairy and his health has improved as well.  I figure it can’t hurt and we hope to learn a lot about what foods benefit us and what seem to harm us.  It’s also a chance to give our diet a healthy kick start.

A few weeks ago, Slimkicker.com contacted me about hosting a giveaway.  I thought about it while I played in their site.  I absolutely love their site and was glad that they contacted me.

Slimkicker is a healthy living/diet website.  They have trackers for food and exercise as well as challenges to improve health.

They describe themselves as – “SlimKicker is a calorie tracker and game that turns your diet/fitness goals into a level-up game with points and rewards. You rack up points by tracking healthy calories, and completing challenges such as quitting soda for a week. You upload a picture of a reward such as a cheat food, or iPod, and we’ll remind you to reward yourself with that reward as you reach a certain number of points. We also have diet recipe ideas as well.”

They have a small community that is open and friendly.  I love the trackers – they are not only user-friendly but they offer easy to access information about your diet.  I like that they allow you to put together recipes easily and at the bottom of the page there are suggestions to alter your diet such as foods that are higher in fiber or protein.  It does take some playing with to figure out all the parts but that’s the same with all tracking systems.

I love the reward system – you upload a picture of what you want and work to earn points by tracking and challenges.  You get extra points for healthy choices such as good sources of protein or servings of vegetables.

So here’s the giveaway – Slimkicker is offering a brand new Hamiliton Beach 6 quart crockpot to the best idea for a new fitness or diet challenge.  Check out the site and see if you can come up with a creative challenge idea.  Post your idea in the comments by August 10th.  Slimkicker will pick the best idea.  Feel free to enter as many times as you like.

*I am not receiving any compensation for this giveaway or the promotion of Slimkicker.com.  You do not have to join Slimkicker to participate in this giveaway.

