Tags

, , , , , ,

I was so excited to be selected to review Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil.  I even took a picture and posted it on facebook.  It lovingly sat on my counter (well on hot days I put it in the fridge and then took it out again) waiting for that moment, that time I had to give.

This past week, I took time off from work giving me a five day weekend.  This was the time for making chocolate with my new coconut oil.  I have been playing with the recipe here without a lot of success.

There’s nothing wrong with her recipe except that it doesn’t suit my family’s taste.  The chocolate was not very sweet and it was rather soft.  I had some problems with sweetener – sugar left a gritty texture and corn syrup was not something I wanted to continue to use.  I, also, needed a way to make it firmer so that I could use it in baking.

It’s still a work in progress but I knew that I wanted to try it with the new brand of coconut oil.  I had tried two other brands with this recipe so I felt it was a good format for a review.

I pulled out my ingredients and went to work.  Everything changed when I opened that jar of coconut oil.  Later I was reading a recipe that talked about coconut oil.  That recipe said everything I had known about coconut oil – it’s bland, greasy and a great generic additive to recipes.

Not Tropical Traditions – the smell of fresh coconut greets you as you open the jar.  The flavor was amazing.  It was everything I had always thought coconut oil should be.  It was infused with coconut.  It’s still greasy because it is oil but you feel the need to taper off just a bit so that the coconut can perfectly accent your dish.

I will say that I was sampling the Gold variety and did purchase (today) a gallon of the pressed variety to use in my bee cream.  That might have a different feel but I’ll let you know when it arrives.

So back to the chocolate.  I opted to go back to the sugar.  I had to make two batches and mix them because I over calculated my beeswax.  It still has a slight grit to it but the feel is perfect – the firm chocolate with a hint of coconut.  My husband said it reminded him of a Mounds candy bar.

I haven’t baked with it yet but with the current heat wave hitting the Palouse the cool chocolate is all I need (that and the raw goodies I’ll share with you later this week).  Also coming soon – a coconut oil giveaway!

Not the best picture but you can see that it didn’t take long before the mice were in the pan. It currently sits in the fridge with a fork so that no one has to hunt for a way to get into the goodness.

Homemade Chocolate

1 cup coconut oil (6oz)

.5 ounce beeswax (get it from a bee keeper or an organic store not a craft store – there is a big difference)

1/4 cup sugar

1/8 cup water (or so)

1 cup cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla

Add sugar to water and heat until dissolved.  Add beeswax and oil to sugar.  Heat on medium heat until it is all liquid.  Remove from heat and add cocoa powder and vanilla.  Stir smooth.  Pour into 8×8 glass pan and refrigerate until firm.

Virgin Coconut Oil, Gold Label – 1 quart

