Tags

, , , , ,

This post is a day early but tomorrow I will be busy with family get-togethers and general celebrating.  This is going to be an active and quiet time for me as I take the next five days to work on house projects and foraging.  I’ll try to share some but I rarely get on the computer when I’m home but don’t worry there will be a new post come monday and lots to share if I miss the rest of this week.

I could share some of my plans but I think it’s better to focus on what the holiday is really about.  Lately, I’ve been thinking about what it means to be an American.  This presidential election has left me bewildered and hopeless.  Add to that all the anti-gay, anti-woman, pro-christian hype and I’m about to deport myself to a deserted, no internet island.  I mentioned some of my feelings in my Memorial Day post but the propaganda has been overwhelming me lately.

I’ve been thinking about my beliefs in Christianity and what the Bible really says.  I can’t say I know the Bible well but I’ve read enough to get a strong grasp.  This isn’t going to be a post about that or how I feel about religion.  This is about politics but you can’t get the church part out of the state part.  I realized this as we sang The Star Spangled Banner as our closing hymn this past Sunday.

I appreciate my church’s strong political ties but I just wonder if it’s not a contradiction to the core of their faith.  I think that’s the real problem – we are so out of touch with our roots.  Do we understand what the founding father’s meant when they wrote the documents upon which our country was founded?  Do we really understand what Jesus Christ stood for?

My answer is no.  We have forgotten our humanity as a whole.  We have forgotten that our ancestors fled to America (yes I understand not all came willingly but that’s a whole other can of worms).  I’m talking about the founding father’s sort of people.

I have heard that the start of the constitution didn’t really have the same meaning for the founding fathers that we hold today – We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.–

Someone told me that they meant it only applied to white men but I disagree.  I think they understood the country they lived in but they hoped for something better.  This was the first draft of I have a dream.  Okay maybe that’s just me but I believe that we were meant to be a great country.  We were meant to be equal.

The founding father’s knew love and friendship.  They knew the greatness of men (and women).  They couldn’t just wipe out all that hatred and injustice with a single document so they planted a foundation.  They gave us the power to create the great nation they envisioned.

Somewhere along the way, we got horribly lost.  We gave the power to the wrong people and turned our back on corruption.  Sadly, there is no new world for us to run to now.  We have no alternative but to stand up and fight or lay down and die.

It’s not that easy.  I wish we could make the change right now but everyone needs to be ready.  Each person needs to determine that the life, liberty and pursuit of happiness of our neighbors is just as important as ours.  We have to stop thinking that this country and our faiths were based in hatred and remember that they were all based on love.

*I don’t know what happened but this didn’t post and of course I was gone.

