Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have to admit that this is not the prettiest fruit pizza I have ever made.  Usually I make them for parties and this time, I thought I’d throw one together to take pictures for a friend.  I got very lazy and put all the crust dough into one pan instead of seperating it to make two smaller pizzas.  I forgot the dough rose just a little so I ended up with a tasty but uneven edge (all the missing bits were because we were picking at it pretending to try to make it even).

This recipe makes a lot which is why it’s reserved for parties.  This particular pizza had a crust that was nearly an inch thick.  It was still tasty but I only made half the cream cheese topping (homemade cream cheese was so tasty here).  I will say that if you use homemade cream cheese, it takes a full batch for this recipe and you’ll probably want to double the sugar since the homemade cream cheese has more flavor. 

Normally, I make this in a round pizza pan and then top it with a pineapple ring in the center (sometimes with a cherry) and then make rounds of mandarin oranges, strawberries, kiwi and more pineapple.  That’s just the way it had always been done.  We didn’t end up with great fruit choices in our bountiful basket but I’m not complaining.

Rob cut up a mini watermelon and a pineapple to make those beautiful slices.  I swear that man has talent when it comes to carving up fruits and veggies.  I keep telling him he needs to start an edible bouquet business.

Back to the pizza cause I’m not focusing today.

The base or crust is a simple sugar cookie recipe.  I didn’t have cream of tartar and really didn’t feel like going to the store so I just added 2 teaspoons of baking soda (total) and the crust came out just fine.  I could taste the baking soda but no one else could. 

You bake that and then let it cool.  Notice here that the crust sits just under the rim – I thought it would turn out perfect but I forgot it will rise.

The worst part of it creeping over the pan was it was an invitation to sampling.  I believe everyone who went through the kitchen took a little bit (I will admit I was the worst offender).

Mix up the cream cheese with sugar and some vanilla.  I can’t talk enough about using homemade cream cheese – it mixed so nicely and was so smooth that it was a joy to make.  There was no mashing the bricks into the sugar and trying to force it to combine with the vanilla.  The homemade cream cheese welcomed the ingredients as if they were always meant to be together.  It was tough not to just eat the cream cheese out of the bowl.

I did manage to get most of the frosting on the cookie crust and then top it with the fruit.  The pizza is always nice freshly assembled but I like it best the next day when the fruit has softened the cookie crust and the whole thing has mingled flavors.  I will say it is always a hit.

I did see a picture of a fruit pizza that looked like this (no recipe so I can’t be certain) that had walnuts and chocolate syrup drizzled over the top.  I thought about trying that but I wasn’t in the mood to make chocolate syrup (once again – when you try homemade you just can’t go back to store bought).

Fruit Pizza

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup oil

1 cup butter

2 eggs

1 tbs. vanilla

4 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cream of tarter

2 packages cream cheese

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

Sliced fruit: strawberries, kiwi, mandarin oranges, pineapple rings

Cream 1st two sugars with butter and oil, add next 5 ingredients, mix well.  Divide onto 2 greased pizza pans, bake at 350 until brown, cool. Cream remaining ingredients together – except the fruit.  Spread on cooled crust.  Top with fruit.

KitchenFun

