Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

I apologize – I meant to post this yesterday and just never got to it.

When they say easy as pie what they really should say is easy as pudding.  Pie is hard but pudding is so easy that I can’t understand why anyone would buy instant.  This recipe is from my favorite cookbook – Country Recipes by Martha Storey.  It’s definitely my go-to cookbook.

This banana pudding recipe makes wonderful pudding.  Omit the bananas and you have a great vanilla pudding.  I keep thinking I’m going to play with other flavors for this pudding but I never do.

Normally, I just make it with bananas and skip the vanilla wafers but this time the guys wanted them.  I was surprised that liked it that way even when the cookies got soft.  I’m not sure I’d want it this way every time but it was a fun addition.  I lined the dish in cookies and skipped adding some to the middle layer.

It wasn’t as difficult as I expected to line the dish with cookies – they stood up rather nicely.  I took pictures of the layers but I didn’t think to take pictures of making the actual pudding.  That’s because it happened so quick I didn’t have time to think about it. 

My pudding was in two layers with three layers of bananas – cookies, bananas, pudding, bananas, pudding, bananas. 

To make the actual pudding goes like this – heat the milk.  Mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl.  Pour hot milk into bowl, mix well.  Return the whole mess to the pan and cook until thick.

I have made this by heating the milk and dumping the bowl of ingredients into it when it was hot and mixing it that way.  It worked out just fine so I don’t think it really matters which way you do it.  I, honestly, feel that this is so easy that I will never feel like buying a package ever.  I haven’t gotten chocolate pudding to be as tasty but then I haven’t tried adding chocolate to this recipe.  Hmm, might be something good for this weekend.

Banana Pudding

2 cups milk
1 cup sugar
4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1/2 teas vanilla extract
2-3 very ripe but still firm bananas, sliced

Heat milk until hot over medium high heat – do not let boil.  Mix remaining ingredients (except bananas) in a bowl, whisking smooth.  Pour milk into bowl and whisk smooth again.  Pour back into pan and cook until thick, stirring often. 

Pour pudding into 2 quart dish and cover with bananas.  Serve hot or cold with whipped cream.

To make southern style banana pudding – line a 2 quart dish with vanilla wafers.  Follow with a layer of bananas.  Add half the pudding to the top and smooth slightly.  Layer more bananas (and wafers if desired).  Cover with remaining pudding and end with a layer of bananas. Serve hot or cold with whipped cream.

For banana cream pie – dish pudding into a pre-cooked pie shell (or graham cracker shell).  Cover with bananas.  Spoon whipped cream around edge of pie with a big dollop in the center.  Serve cold.

 

