Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In the state of Idaho, you need a mushroom permit to forage for mushrooms in our favorite places.  This is new this year due to a merging of forest offices (one had a permit policy) so we took some time off the Friday before our vacation to head up to the ranger station to get our permits.

What does one do with their new mushroom permits?  Find a nearby area to go mushroom hunting.  My husband had never gone mushroom hunting with me before and it was tough to explain to him what we were looking for.  We wandered this path around the woods.  My husband bravely held his ground on the path while I scampered through the trees looking for mushrooms.

He calls to me – he found something on the path and is this what we are looking for.  Guess what – my husband found 3 morel mushrooms right there on the path.  As we wandered he found 3 more – all but one right on the path.  I found none.  He told me he could smell them which is weird cause that man never smells anything.  I told him that was it – he was now a requirement when I go looking for mushrooms.

Six morel mushrooms aren’t much and I had no idea what I wanted to do with them.  They were beautiful specimens but small.  I’d been eyeing this recipe as something perfect to have on our trip.  I don’t do canned biscuits so it would have to be completely revamped.  My end result was not perfect (needs a tiny bit of tweaking) but it was amazing.

I made up a batch of biscuits using 2 cups of homemade bisquick mix (I’ll share the recipe when I make up a new batch soon) and just enough milk (about 1 cup) to make a stiff dough.  I usually make a fairly wet dough but I wanted this to stand up to rolling.  I rolled the dough into one inch balls, flattened them and pressed them into muffin tins.

I would recommend maybe using a little less biscuit or pressing them thinner.  The biscuit tasted wonderful but didn’t leave a lot of room for the rest of my ingredients.

My wonderful husband chopped the morels and a half an onion into tiny bits.  We sautéed them in a little butter until they were tender.  I sliced up two chicken andouille sausages.  We divided the mushroom/onion mix between all the cups and added 2-3 slices of sausage.  Then I topped with a pinch of shredded cheese.

Looking back at the original recipe – I took 1 egg per every two cups and then ended up adding another egg to the scramble.  I beat the eggs and then divided them amongst the cups.  I used too much egg for all the filling I used.  Next time I would divide them more and perhaps use 1 egg per every 3 cups working hard to only add a tiny amount of egg.

I set the muffin tin on a large baking sheet to catch egg drips.  I didn’t take a picture but I had a huge mess when I was done.  The eggs had puffed up and spilled all over.  I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes, I really think that I should have raised it up just a bit, perhaps up to 400 because the biscuits were rather soft – cooked but soft.  And they stuck a little but I think that had to do with they were undercooked but you may consider a little butter on the tins.

I know I wrote a very appealing recipe that sounds like an absolute disaster but I served these for Mother’s Day Brunch – 12 cups for 5 people along with scones, fruit, and other foods.  There were no cups left.  We gorged on them because they were so awesome tasting.  I can’t say the morels made the meal but it was a fun introduction to these mushrooms.

I usually write better recipes than this but this isn’t as much of a recipe as it’s an idea.  You can add anything to these have them come out wonderful.  I plan on trying them again with whatever we have in the fridge.  I still have two chicken sausages in the freezer so I could just make them without the mushrooms.  Or we could go see what we can find out in the woods this weekend.

Biscuit Egg Cups

2 cups biscuit mix

1 cup milk

2 sausages, sliced (hot dog sized)

1 cup shredded cheese

1/2 onion

5 morel mushrooms

6 eggs

oil or butter

Grease a muffin time with butter or oil.  Preheat oven to 350 (or 400).  Chop onion and mushrooms.  Saute until tender in 1 Tb oil or butter, set aside.  Pour biscuit mix into a bowl.  Drizzle the milk in the mix until it makes a stiff workable dough (no dry mix remaining).  Roll dough into 1 inch balls.  Smoosh balls into muffin tins making a crust.  Add a spoonful of onions/mushrooms, cheese and 2-3 slices of sausage in each cup.  Beat eggs in a pourable dish.  Pour in about 1/2 an egg, leaving about 1/4 inch of space.  Not everything will be covered with egg and that’s okay.  Bake until the egg is firm (15-20 minutes).

I made these again on 5/28.  I used a texas muffin pan and made six large egg cups.  I baked it at 400 degrees for nearly 30 minutes.  The results were fantastic.  I didn’t have onions or mushrooms this time but the boys loved the sausage and cheese mix.  They ate the cups dipped in salsa and licked up all the crumbs. 

*I choose to make this with the Morels because of Hunter Angler Gardener Cook’s Morel Mushroom Challenge.

