Tags

, , , ,

Two Tone Marshmallows

This is the time of year that my brain becomes obsessed with sweets.  I don’t necessarily want to eat them but I badly want to experiment with them.  I want to make my own versions of everything sweet.  Lately, it’s been caramels and marshmallows on my brain.  These two tone marshmallows are something I just thought would be fun to make.  I didn’t exactly have a recipe to replicate these but they are so easy that it’s not going to be one of those experiments that we enjoy once and never see again.

When I make marshmallows, this is the recipe I use.  While there are a ton of recipes out there, I have found Alton Brown’s to be the most simple and versatile.  I have never had a failed batch.

So how did I turn his recipe into the marshmallows you see above?  I started with making a batch with no alterations (okay so I skip the salt).  Once that batch was made, I laid it in a 9×13 pan that I greased with coconut oil.

Then I made the second batch.  I will admit that there was a slight problem.  We had run out of corn syrup and my husband’s quick trip to the store turned out not to be so quick.  I thought that letting the first batch set up would prevent the second batch from sticking – it worked just fine.

As I was waiting for my corn syrup, I chopped chocolate chips in a nut chopper.  This is a glass jar that has an X shaped blade that bounces up and down.  If you have one, use it.  If not, you can pulse for a moment in a blender or add them whole.  I like the texture difference of coarsely chopped chocolate.  I didn’t measure the chocolate but if I had to guess (which I do) I would say it was between 1/2 – 3/4 cup.

I made the marshmallows the same way.  Once the batch got to the almost done stage, I threw in the chocolate and vanilla.  When the whole batch was a uniform brown, I poured it on top of the vanilla batch.

Using an oiled spatula I smoothed out the layer and let sit overnight.  I have to tell you that the corners were my favorite.  With the coconut oil, chocolate and marshmallow flavors – it was like eating a candy bar.  It was so good.

I had some powdered sugar covering left over from my chocolate cinnamon marshmallows which was just a blend of powdered sugar, cocoa and cinnamon.  I think I liked them much better uncoated but they stick if you don’t.  I’m not sure I like the added cinnamon either but that hasn’t stopped me from snacking on these.

The coarse chocolate doesn’t melt consistently which is why the chocolate layer looks a little funky.  I like the bits of unmelted chocolate.  If you don’t, make sure to pulverize your chocolate before adding.

I’m sure there’s a way to make these with cocoa powder but I haven’t gotten there yet.

Hopefully, this gets you started with marshmallow experiments as well.  There are more coming.  My brain is still thinking up ideas.  I think a chocolate cherry layered marshmallow would be awesome and I’m planning on trying a caramel dipped version.